Humility

Those reading this who are familiar with my Bible studies, books or my posts and comments in the blogosphere know that I write a great deal about humility. Why is it important? Is it possible to please God and not be humble?

Genuine humility is a marker of a regenerated heart. The non-Christian can generate a form of humility, but it is actually pride pretending to be humility. Many believe that timidity is a sign of humility when actually it is pride in negation. The genuinely humble believer will not be timid. Instead he or she will be bold yet broken before the Lord.

In this article Bill Williams explores the attributes of genuine humility. Please prayerfully read it.

In Christ

Mike Ratliff

14 thoughts on “Humility

  1. That article is EXCELLENT Mike! Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Humility is most definately a work produced by God in the heart of His children. The crucibles that God uses are rarely ever pleasant, but then gold is not purified apart from the fire eh?

  2. I hurt in the crucible. All of us do. When in the flames it can be devastating. That is, it is devastating without the grace of God. It is all to produce Christlikeness and humility in our hearts. And that is worth it everytime.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  3. I think true humility isn’t even aware of itself and becomes a natural attribute for those who focus on having a deep intimacy with Christ. If He is your focus all of His attributes will become yours. I feel you must seek Christ alone, the minute you seek humility or anything else, then your focus wavers.

  4. terrylynn,

    That is good insight. When we are self-aware then we have moved away from that deep center of humility where we exist for God’s glory alone. Good comment.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  5. That’s hitting the nail on the head, terrilynn! Just as Christ emptied Himself, so must we. That’s easy to type into this little comment box. Much harder to live out in life. But, if we seek Christ alone, we are certainly moving in the right direction.

    Great discussion, Mike! May your day be fruitful and may your heart be joyful in this another beautiful day the Lord has made!

  6. “Every time we look to the cross Christ seems to be saying to us, ‘I am here because of you. It is your sin I am bearing, your curse I am suffering, your debt I am paying, your death I am dying.’ Nothing in history or in the universe cuts us down to size like the cross. All of us have inflated views of ourselves, especially in self-righteousness, until we have visited a place called Calvary. It is there, at the foot of the cross, that we shrink to our true size.”

    – John Stott, The Message of Galatians, p. 179.

  7. spurgeon,

    That is why we still must preach the gospel and have it preached to us quite often.The Holy Spirit makes that huge contrast between God’s Righteousness and our lack of Righteousness outside of His grace apparent to our hearts. Yes, we need to be cut down to size. We need to be where Isaiah was, I am ruined! Then God can use us.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  8. Mike,

    Amen! It’s a daily battle to begin each day being close to the Cross and humbled by its message. It’s too easy to leave for work each day having forgotten humility. If it doesn’t begin each morning in our quiet time, when will it through the day?

    Tony

  9. Tony,

    I think it starts when I swing my legs over the edge of the bed each morning after shutting off that blasted alarm clock. If I don’t direct my heart upwards and start praising God right then, then I struggle. If I enter my quiet time with God in praise and worship then I will exit properful focused. However, there are days when I am so self-focused that I couldn’t tell you what I read or prayed during my quiet time because I was day-dreaming so much. However, God usually (nearly always) works things out during my day as only He can to get me on my knees and repenting.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  10. Thanks erik! Your post is very good. Graciously accepting offers or gifts is a mark of humility. It also blesses the giver as it further humbles us. Thanks for your kind words erik and you keep up your fine work as well.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

Comments are closed.