The Narrow Gate

by Mike Ratliff

12 “So whatever you wish that others would do to you, do also to them, for this is the Law and the Prophets. 13 “Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. 14 For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few.” (Matthew 7:14 ESV)

Our Lord Jesus Christ set before us the way of Righteousness. Yes, He lived a perfect life and died on a cruel cross to pay the penalty and price for the sins of those whom He came to save. Yet, He also taught us both in word and deed how the truly Righteous should live. Those whom God has saved are regenerated so that they can believe and repent and receive salvation by grace through faith. However, this regeneration does not kill or do away with our sin nature. God uses our sin nature, which battles us in every step in our spiritual growth, for His own purposes. These purposes include keeping us humble as we see how unrighteous we really are because of our battles against our own flesh. Yes, we still sin. In fact we will never be free of these battles against our flesh until we are taken home to be with our Lord.

The great tragedy of the church in our age is that the vast majority of professing Christians are slaves to their own flesh. Their sin nature dominates them. Their minds and hearts are bound to ways of the world and men. The Compromised Church is full of people who are there because the churches they are in are designed to nurture their flesh rather than disciple them so they can learn to deny it. They never hear of sin, repentance, hell, and the real purpose of Christ’s coming.

Look at the passage I placed at the top of this article. Verse 12 is often called the Golden Rule. However, most people never read vv13-14 in context with v12. If we read these words of our Saviour in context don’t they tell us something much different than what we have come to accept by reading scripture that has been surgically incised from the whole? In context, we see that those who enter the narrow gate whose way is hard that leads to life, are those whose way of living this life is patterned after treating others as they would prefer to be treated. Jesus also says that few find it and enter thereby. He also tell us that those who go by the broad way, which leads to destruction, are the many. Their lives are not patterned after treating others as they wish to be treated. The Golden Rule in this passage is a marker that is an expression of innate humility in the character of those who are genuine Christians.

Those whose interactions and relationships with others is governed by a humble heart will also not judge others hypocritically. Those who hold others to a higher standard of behaviour than they hold themselves are hypocrites and are not living as one who has entered the narrow gate. These two extremes are not what saves those who are humble and condemns those who aren’t. Instead, they are markers or fruit that flow from either a regenerate, humble heart or an unregenerate, prideful heart. What is so confusing for many of us though is that we do struggle with our sin nature, our flesh, in huge battles over living godly lives or pursuing the ways of the world. Many of us lived for many years as professing Christians who seemed to have few, if any, victories over our fleshly hearts.

Spiritual growth is not instantaneous. We can’t take a pill and wake up the next day fully spiritually mature. It takes time. It takes cooperation between us and God as we surrender to the Lordship of our Saviour as the idols in our hearts come under full attack. All in Christ have the Holy Spirit within their hearts. We must cooperate with Him in this battle. If we don’t then we serve our idols, which causes spiritual blindness to increase. Many Christians are devastated most of the time because they can’t seem to lives lives of victory over besetting sins that seem to cling so close to them that they can never even run one lap in the race that God has set before them before they stumble and fall out. If their spiritual blindness is severe, they can live as friends of the world in defeat for years as they seek fulfillment from their flesh because their walk before their Lord is in shambles.

How do we break this cycle of defeat? Is it something we can do ourselves? I believe that it starts with God. He puts in our hearts a deep desire to be free of our wicked sin nature. When we respond by seeking Him with a repentant heart doesn’t He draw near to us?

1 What causes quarrels and what causes fights among you? Is it not this, that your passions are at war within you? 2 You desire and do not have, so you murder. You covet and cannot obtain, so you fight and quarrel. You do not have, because you do not ask. 3 You ask and do not receive, because you ask wrongly, to spend it on your passions. 4 You adulterous people! Do you not know that friendship with the world is enmity with God? Therefore whoever wishes to be a friend of the world makes himself an enemy of God. 5 Or do you suppose it is to no purpose that the Scripture says, “He yearns jealously over the spirit that he has made to dwell in us”? 6 But he gives more grace. Therefore it says, “God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.” 7 Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. 8 Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded. 9 Be wretched and mourn and weep. Let your laughter be turned to mourning and your joy to gloom. 10 Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will exalt you. (James 4:1-10 ESV)

This passage was instrumental in my own restoration. God used this and many other scripture passages to reveal to this old heart what my problem really was. What was it? I was a friend of the world. My idolatrous heart was energized by pride. I had little if any godliness because I never asked for it even though I did deeply desire it. When I prayed for it, it was always for God to change me, but I put no effort in doing anything to bring it about. In my post I was Blind, Now I See a few days ago, I shared how over a period of 9 months or so God drew me into a closer walk with Him. I spent more and more time praying, worshipping and studying the Bible. What was I doing during that time? Wasn’t I drawing near unto God? What did He do in return? He drew near unto me. What was the result? I repented and God granted me that repentance. He changed me. He demolished my idols and cut the callous from my heart. My spiritual blindness was taken away by my dear Heavenly Father. I am still so grateful that my heart breaks when I think of the good work He has done there.

Since that time, I have not become perfect at all. I still struggle with sin, but now I recognize that each test or trial is an opportunity to express humility, delight in God, and treat others as I would like them to treat me. I no longer have to win. In fact, I rejoice as I submit to other people’s will even when I could easily force my will on them and be seen as in the right by most people. What is more important, to do the will of God in humility or to get my way in all things? The world says I should look out for number one. Jesus says that those who enter the narrow gate treat others as they would prefer to be treated. How can we do this? Only the Spirit-led can do this. They are Christians who are not in bondage to their flesh. They deny themselves, take up their crosses and follow Jesus. They follow His example of Righteousness by treating others as they want to be treated. However, they may not be treated in kind. In fact, they may be treated horribly by those with depraved hearts and minds. That doesn’t change anything. In fact, the call to be meek and humble in face of persecution is the pinnacle of Christlikeness.

Powered by Qumana

9 thoughts on “The Narrow Gate

  1. Mike,

    I often read Matthew 7 …the Lord takes me there..verse 21 always
    puts me on alert, not just from others, but from myself! Denying oneself may be a daily struggle, but necessary! I want nothing less or anything more, than to be in the will of our Father…
    no matter how narrow that gate becomes!

    Thank you for a blessed article…a simple, but yet, a much needed reminder of how to treat others.

    In His love,
    Sherry

  2. “Spiritual growth is not instantaneous.”

    Yes and amen. Neither do we keep the ground we’ve gained if we regress. A very good article and Christlikeness is grown in the garden of His Word and fertile soil of humility. And when the world makes us the butt of their jokes do we praise God that we are worthy to suffer for Him or do we write our congressman? And when Rosie O’Donnell speaks against us do we return evil for evil or do we worship God that we are His?

    I have heard preachers say, “We aren’t supposed to be a doormat” and everyone says “Amen!”. Those preachers are wrong. You want proof?

    Refer to the life of Christ, the book of Acts, Hebrews chapter 11, John the Baptist, the book of martyrs, and oh yes, the cross that we are called to reflect.

    Thanks, Mike, and may the Holy Spirit accomplish in us that which we are utterly incapable of doing ourselves.

  3. This is a very good post. In fact I always keep wondering when I am going to gain ground over some of my addictions, and like you said, addictions keep us from continually seeking the Lord. Its one or the other, either your sins kill your devotion, or your devotion kills your sin, both cannot go hand in hand. When I fall into sin, I tend to get away from God, Thankfully God still speaks to me through many sources, like your messages and through sermons of Spurgeon which I really love to listen, but we have to cultivate an interest to seek God more and more, if we seek only to cultivate our fleshly desire, its going to kill our love and devotion to the Lord, The Lord will restore us if we are his true children, but we would find that we wasted much of our time. I know that I will gain victory over my sins… and that I have through Christ, but sometimes it amazes me and makes me wonder when others say that they have gained victory over their addictions overnight, I mean, i wonder if it is because I am wilfully sinning or don’t have the faith , or don’t love God that I can’t do the same thing? Anyways the answer is only to seek God. And God has spoken to me through this post of yours. Thank you and God bless!!

  4. Paul,

    Amen brother. You have it right. It is only as we give God more and more of ourselves that God removes our spiritual blindness so that we can grow in humility and Christlikeness.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  5. “Many of us lived for many years as professing Christians who seemed to have few, if any, victories over our fleshly hearts.”
    So true for me. And sadly I had minimal concern about it. Praise God for His faithfulness as Father. Kim T

  6. Mike,
    Thank you for this post. I am so thankful the Lord is in charge of my life and not myself or my life would be in shambles. He, the Potter, is forming me into His image.During my walk pieces of the clay have broken off, but He still counts them useful. He takes those pieces and uses them for me to learn from. He continuelly molds me and forms me into His image. I think sometimes we can feel like useless vessels but it is all in His time and purpose in where our walk is. We jsut have to allow God to do the work. He has promised to finish it. What’s that old saying, “The best is yet to come!” -His Finished Work.

    To God be the glory great things He has done!
    Cristina

Comments are closed.