The Scarlet Woman

by Mike Ratliff

1 Then one of the seven angels who had the seven bowls came and said to me, “Come, I will show you the judgment of the great prostitute who is seated on many waters, 2 with whom the kings of the earth have committed sexual immorality, and with the wine of whose sexual immorality the dwellers on earth have become drunk.” (Revelation 17:1-2 ESV)

John the Baptist was the one who was sent to make the way straight, to prepare the way for the one was to come. Of course the one who was to come is our Lord Jesus Christ the long awaited Messiah of the Jews. Gabriel told Zechariah, the father of John, “he would be filled with the Holy Spirit, even from his mother’s womb, and will turn many of the children of Israel to the Lord their God, and he will go before him in the spirit and power of Elijah, to turn the heart of the fathers to the children, and the disobedient to the wisdom of the just, to make ready for the Lord a people prepared.” Of course he did that very thing and our Lord was born of a virgin soon after John.

John the Baptist called the Jews to repentance and obedience. His major focus was to call them out of the works based religion which the scribes and Pharisees had created. Their religion, while based within the Law of God, had not the spirit of the Law, but only the letter of it. The focus was not on knowing God through the Law, but on attempting to become acceptable to God via keeping the Law plus the thousands of other rules and regulations the scribes and Pharisees had piled up on top of it. Their religion was all performance with no mercy or grace. John’s message was to turn from this works based religion back to seeking the face of God with a penitent heart. When Jesus came and began his ministry those whom the Father had given the Son believed and followed Him. These had been prepared by the ministry of John. Even some of our Lord’s 12 Apostles were formerly John’s disciples.

Right now as you read this God is calling His people again to turn away from empty religion in brokenness and repentance to walk before Him with penitent hearts in full obedience. The Church in our time is very sick. Its leaders have the appearance of godliness, but deny its power. They minister perfunctorily and pragmatically which are fruits of unbelief. The Gospel presentation has become a set of steps followed by the rite of saying a sinner’s prayer. Jesus is presented as a wimp who would not dare rebuke anyone. Neither would he demand that His disciples must deny themselves, take up their crosses and follow Him. Lordship? What’s that? Christianity is seen as a set of add on options that are all subject to choice. There is no teaching of the wrath of God or of sin or of Hell. Salvation is seen as a way to have Jesus come into your life to so it will be better.

Of course, there are many forms of the Scarlet Woman, more than we can talk about here. But suffice it to say that any form of Christianity that is not totally bound to Christ as Lord who with the Father and Holy Spirit are Sovereign, Omnipotent, Omniscient, Immutable and Omnipresent is not genuine, but is a prostituted version of it. Salvation is by Grace through faith, and that not of ourselves, it is a gift of God. Any other teaching than Justification by Faith which is a gift from God is either works based or antinomian based and, therefore, part of the Scarlet Woman. Churches that exist for themselves or for the power and glory of the leaders are part of Scarlet Woman. Any form of Christianity that is not bound totally to the Glory of God Alone is part of the Scarlet Woman. Who is the Scarlet Woman?

3 And he carried me away in the Spirit into a wilderness, and I saw a woman sitting on a scarlet beast that was full of blasphemous names, and it had seven heads and ten horns. 4 The woman was arrayed in purple and scarlet, and adorned with gold and jewels and pearls, holding in her hand a golden cup full of abominations and the impurities of her sexual immorality. 5 And on her forehead was written a name of mystery: “Babylon the great, mother of prostitutes and of earth’s abominations.” 6 And I saw the woman, drunk with the blood of the saints, the blood of the martyrs of Jesus. (Revelation 17:3-6 ESV)

In Roman times, prostitutes wore a head band with their name on it. This “proudly” portrayed their debauchery. This Scarlet Woman wears a head band as well. We must remember that to God any form of religion that is counterfeit is akin to sexual infidelity in marriage. These churches that exist totally outside of true worship and service for His glory alone are spiritual prostitutes in God’s eyes. Those churches are run by leaders who have bought into the lie that Christianity is marketable or can be sold, or merchandised, or soft-sold, or peddled, or made into entertainment. They have prostituted their ministries by sacrificing the sheep in their care on the altar of self. Who needs God when we have a system that “works?”

Try standing against the tide of these abominations in a 21st Century church that has gone pragmatic and you will quickly find out what it is like to be excluded or run off, or cast out, ignored, and made a pariah. However, God is calling His saints to come out of the Scarlet Woman.

1 After this I saw another angel coming down from heaven, having great authority, and the earth was made bright with his glory. 2 And he called out with a mighty voice,
“Fallen, fallen is Babylon the great!
She has become a dwelling place for demons,
a haunt for every unclean spirit,
a haunt for every unclean bird,
a haunt for every unclean and detestable beast.
3 For all nations have drunk
the wine of the passion of her sexual immorality,
and the kings of the earth have committed immorality with her,
and the merchants of the earth have grown rich from the power of her luxurious living.”
4 Then I heard another voice from heaven saying,
“Come out of her, my people,
lest you take part in her sins,
lest you share in her plagues;
5 for her sins are heaped high as heaven,
and God has remembered her iniquities.
6 Pay her back as she herself has paid back others,
and repay her double for her deeds;
mix a double portion for her in the cup she mixed.
7 As she glorified herself and lived in luxury,
so give her a like measure of torment and mourning,
since in her heart she says,
‘I sit as a queen,
I am no widow,
and mourning I shall never see.’
8 For this reason her plagues will come in a single day,
death and mourning and famine,
and she will be burned up with fire;
for mighty is the Lord God who has judged her.” (Revelation 18:1-8 ESV)

That final call will come, but for now the way is being prepared for our Lord’s return. Those who “get it” and “see it” who have ears to hear and eyes to see recognize the Scarlet Woman and have come out or are coming out as the Lord draws them from darkness to light. The sins of the Scarlet Woman will only increase and fill up the cup of wrath God has for her. God’s people, however, should have nothing to do with these abominations, but should worship the Lord their God in spirit and in truth while obeying Him in all things, abiding in Christ and being Spirit-filled. They must stop seeing religion as the focal point of their relationship with God. Instead, it should be an expression of their living and growing faith.

The foundation of our Faith is Christ not some church building nor even the people in it nor the religious things that go on there. Churches that fear and honor God, follow the Bible rather than what men say, teach their sheep to work out their salvation with fear and trembling are not part of the Scarlet Woman. Those who are part of churches like that are truly blessed by God and should not neglect the gathering of the saints.

Before Jesus comes back, Elijah will return to prepare the way just as John the Baptist prepared the way for our Lord’s first coming. Elijah will come, however, God has awakened many of us right now to shine His light of rebuke into the Scarlet Woman. He is calling the Remnant out of her. The Great Apostasy appears to be upon us. The leaders within the Scarlet Woman have the appearance of godliness, but deny its power. These “fellows” call themselves Christians but deny the veracity of scripture. They contend that we are not Christlike because we rebuke them. They cry for unity at all costs. However, the spirit of Elijah listens to no man, but is subject only to will and purpose of God. There will be no compromise. Jesus said offensive things directly to many people while He ministered on Earth as did John the Baptist and Elijah. We are called to proclaim the truth no matter who is offended by it. We fear God, not men. God is preparing to bring His Kingdom to fulfillment. When Elijah does come will the Lord’s return be far behind? Are these things coming to light at this time so God’s people can be prepared? Whatever God is doing, this message is the one I cannot get past, “Now is the time to repent, turn from sin, turn your hearts to God for forgiveness and cleansing, walk in repentance, abide in Christ, deny yourselves, take up your crosses and follow Jesus, and be Spirit-filled!”

Time is short. We are quickly approaching the time when seals will be broken, trumpets blown and bowls poured out. We must examine ourselves, asking God to show us what needs to be severed from our lives and what must be taken up. When Jesus does return, and He will, will He find faith on the Earth?

Addendum: My friend Rick Frueh has written a great post on empty religiosity called The Shadow of Law. I pray that you will read it as well. Enjoy and be blessed. – Mike Ratliff

Powered by Qumana

32 thoughts on “The Scarlet Woman

  1. Mike,
    Thank you so much for listening to the Spirit speak to your heart and for sharing with all of us what He is saying to you. Your words have meant so much to me tonight (this morning). Sleep was elusive due to heavy burdens on my heart and a distance from God that I am struggling to correct because the world is creating a barrier I cannot break down. God brought me here to read your words, to speak to me through you, to help remind me the world is far less important than He is. You have blessed me and refreshed my heart, helped me experience anew the wonders of His mighty love, the wonders of His work on the cross, the importance of following Him alone, of keeping our focus on Him in ALL circumstances.

    What a joy you must be to God, seeing how you have responded to the process of refinement in your life by dedicating your life to doing His work and doing it for His glory. If only we could all do just a little bit of what you do with the same heart of devotion to God, then maybe we could be one loud voice calling out to those who can’t hear the soft whispers because their distance from God is so great.

    I pray you and others like you continue to cry out to us, to His children, to awaken us to the reality of what is happening in His name that is not really of Him. I pray for your protection, your guidance, for continued wisdom and perserverance to speak the truth in love, proclaiming the Gospel as given to us by God and not by men. There is power in the Word, mighty power and man does not need to dress it up to make it look appealing, God has already done that, He’s made it as beautiful as it could ever be. What a joy to look upon the work of the cross and see the beauty of what Christ accomplished. Why oh, why, does man want to change that?

    God Bless.
    Trish

  2. Wow, Mike. I just finished posting an article on FJL and I came to this. Coincidence? No way. I am going to link this on my article. Who the Son has set free is free indeed!!

  3. Amen Mike,

    In all these things we overwhelmingly conquer THROUGH HIM who loves us.
    For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angles, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in the Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:37-39

    Praise Him!! He does it all as we abide in Him and He in us.

    Much love to my brothers and sister in Christ Deborah

  4. Trish,

    Thank you for encouraging me in the Lord! My heart’s desire is for all of God’s people to take on the Spirit of Elijah because that is what sees the division so clearly between religiosity and genuine faith in action. It also knows the counterfeit when it sees it. I pray that the Lord will give you your heart’s desire and that you will walk before the face of God for His glory alone!

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  5. Sherry,

    I have prayed that He will be with you. Do not worry about what to say just speak as the Spirit gives those words to you. You will be fine my sister!

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  6. Rick,

    Coincidence? Nope. God is at work, let’s never stop speaking and writing the truth as God gives us these messages my brother!

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  7. Deborah,

    Amen sister! Abiding in Christ in the key! From that, we are able to anything our Lord desires. Praise Him O’ Praise Him!

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  8. Dear Mike,

    Thanks for your post. The message that you say you cannot get past is really something to remember.
    “Now is the time to repent, turn from sin, turn your hearts to God for forgiveness and cleansing, walk in repentance, abide in Christ, deny yourselves, take up your crosses and follow Jesus, and be Spirit-filled!”
    Considering the Coming Day will be coming soon and we will have a Resurrection Body to prepare ourselves for, this is a message none of us who want to follow Jesus can get past.
    The following passage from 2nd Peter came to my mind:
    “The day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up. Seeing then that all these things shall be dissolved, what manner of persons ought ye to be in all holy conversation and godliness, Looking for and hasting unto the coming of the day of God, wherein the heavens being on fire shall be dissolved, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat?
    Nevertheless we, according to his promise, look for new heavens and a new earth, wherein dwelleth righteousness.
    Wherefore, beloved, seeing that ye look for such things, be diligent that ye may be found of him in peace, without spot, and blameless.”

    Shalom shalom,
    Jacco Pippel.

  9. Pingback: Symphony of Scripture » Blog Archive » The Scarlet Woman

  10. Hello Mike,

    Every time I read your posts, I feel as though I get slapped upside the head. But wait, as crazy as that sounds, it gets crazier. I need it and I like it!

    I love deep teaching as this. You have challenged me to think about everything I believe in and why. No, that’s a good thing…my faith has been shallow, my growth in obedience and holiness has stagnated, and, quite bluntly, I’m frustrated.

    “Now is the time to repent, turn from sin, turn your hearts to God for forgiveness and cleansing, walk in repentance, abide in Christ, deny yourselves, take up your crosses and follow Jesus, and be Spirit-filled!”

    That’s what I want! Paraphrasing Paul since I don’t have a Bible in front of me at the moment…I see the finish line. I want the prize! But I’m not there yet. It’s just that I feel so far away from the finish line and every step I take, the finish line judges push the line back a step!

    I know it carries an enormous price on my part to follow Jesus…but it’s miniscule to the price paid for me on the cross. I want to fully grasp and live out how to walk in repentance and obedience, deny myself every nanosecond,
    and what it truly means to take up my cross. It’s been a while since the Holy Spirit has spoken to me; sadly, I know I have quenched the Holy Spirit by my selfishness. I’ll be the first to raise my hand and say this: I think I see you way ahead in the race. Can you shout back some tips from those who are trying to get away from milk and eat solid food?

    Keep up the great work…sorry, I just had to vent in frustration.

    In Christ, and Mike, even more blessings to you and may you be encouraged even more than I have from the articles from the Spirit you bring to me and all of us who read these articles.

  11. Hi Mike,
    I wrote you once before after reading your series on the compromised church. I used a “pseudonym” instead of my real name at the time because I was so fearful. My family and I are still attending a PDC, but God’s perfect love is casting out my fear, and I refuse to any longer walk in darkness. I never want to be decieved again, and I realize that only the truth of God’s Word can protect me from deception. So, I will use my real name from now on!
    All that said to tell you that God is mightily using your website on a daily basis in my life to help me see the truth and be set free from all the lies of the Devil. This article on the Scarlet Woman was chilling but totally lined up with God’s Word and what is happening in the church I attend. I believe God has opened my eyes to the huge deception in the PDC because He is calling our family out.
    For now, your website has become my home church, you my pastor, and your writings the only source I have right now of sound teaching and instruction from God’s word. I log on every morning, download an article, then get out my Bible and get to studying. The comments people write in are my “fellowship” right now.
    I did want to ask you a question. I have been a born-again believer for 12 years, but I confess I have been led down several deceptive paths, and some of the things you are talking about are foreign to me or I know very little about them, such as regeneration, justification, sanctification, etc. Are there any good solid books I could purchase that would teach me basic doctrines of the Christian faith? I’ve heard so many different interpretations of doctrines (in a word of faith church, a oneness pentocostal church, and currently a PDC), that I am mixed up and uncertain anymore who to trust. I would appreciate your input and a direction I could go with this. I have been printing all your articles about regeneration, repentance, salvation, faith, grace, etc., and using them to help me study God’s Word.
    Thank you, Mike, for writing these articles. I believe that God in His mercy led me to stumble across your website. I had been crying out to Him day and night to lead me in truth, reveal what was bothering me at our PDC, and bring me a shepherd to teach me, and I am SO GRATEFUL He led me to this place.
    Please pray for my husband who is struggling between loyalty to our PDC and pastor, and the truth I am speaking to Him from God’s Word. Please pray that the Holy Spirit will open his eyes and convict him of the massive deception taking place, and that God will lead our family to a place where we can have true fellowship with other believers. My husband is starting to study some of your articles with me, praise God!
    Looking forward to meeting you one day, even if that’s in heaven!

    Tami

  12. Gilbert,

    Never forget that the closer we get to God, the more we are cleansed and are able to see our sin from His perspective. So when you feel like the finish line is being pushed further away, you are on the right track brother. Just keep pursuing our Lord with your entire being!

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  13. Tami,

    Your comment broke me heart. You are not the first one to say that about using my ministry as their church. I will no longer run from it, but let it be known that I am totally inadequate to be anyone’s pastor. However, in Christ I can do anything according to His will by the power of the Holy Spirit. If you are blessed in my ministry then praise God because He is using this servant for His glory!

    As for suggestions for books that are easy to understand that teach the meat from God’s Word, I suggest Knowing God by J.I. Packer and The Doctrines of Grace by Boyce and Ryken. Also, a very good book is Chosen by God by R.C. Sproul. When you get through these and want a primer on Justification I suggest The God Who Justifies by James White.

    I have prayed for you and your family to be in the church that God has for you. I have prayed that you and your family will be drawn from darkness to light for His glory alone.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  14. Hello Gilbert,

    What the sticking point you are at is the same thing that Paul rebuked the Galatians for. I know many, will disagree with me on this, but here is what I see as your problem.

    Are you so foolish? having begun in the Spirit, are ye now made perfect by the flesh? (Galatians 3:3)

    The Christian overcomes sin only through the blood of Jesus and the power of the Holy Spirit and not through their own determination to quit sinning. That person’s spirit may be willing but their flesh is weak! Some people have a form of godliness, but deny the power thereof. As you can see by this verse, the power to live a godly life comes from God, not from “ten steps to deliverence”!

    This I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfil the lust of the flesh (Galatians 5:16).

    The drug addict or the alcoholic is not wanting to know that there is someone that will keep forgiving them when they sin, or a church that will hold them accountable or some person or “cell or small group” to cuddle and cry with them. They want to know about a Savior that has the power to destroy the addiction that is destroying them and not just to keep forgiving them as they wallow in it. Many in churches today only know Jesus as a “forgiver”, but not a “Savior”.

    Let me share my experince briefly. I had been taught by religion that the Bible was used to point out the sin in my life, then it was now my responsabilty to get my flesh cleaned up or face judgment. If I sinned, then all I had to do was come to the foot of the cross or to the alter to receive forgiveness, which I could, but then I would go right back out into the world and be back in the same shape again. I could always come back to the cross over and over and receive forgiveness though.

    If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness (1 John 1:10).

    But I never experienced the peace with God or the abundant life. My whole “Christian” experience became one of conviction of sin (John 16:9) and then repenting of it, in a never-ending cycle as I tried to get the sin out of my life, with Jesus forgiving me in between. This is not the victory in Jesus that the Bible talks about. I never experienced a “remission of sins” which is one of the true signs of living the Gospel.
    The battle of sin is not won by what you do; it is won by what Jesus did! The sacrifice of Jesus gives us the victory over the sin penalty (Romans 6:23), and the indwelling Holy Spirit gives us the victory over the sin desires.

    This I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfil the lust of the flesh (Galatians 5:16).

    For if ye live after the flesh, ye shall die: but if ye THROUGH THE SPIRIT do mortify the deeds of the body, ye shall live. For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God (Romans 8:13).

    But ye are not in the flesh, BUT IN THE SPIRIT, if so be that the Spirit of God dwell in you. Now if any man have not the Spirit of Christ, he is none of his (Romans 8:9).

    Jesus comndemed sin “in the FLESH”(Romans 8:3), but the Christian is “in the SPIRIT” if they have been born again as Romans 8:9 just explained. That is why there is no more condemnation to those in Christ Jesus who walk in the Spirit (Romans 8:1). Now let’s read this verse again, and you can see what Paul was talking about to the Galatians.

    Are you so foolish? having begun in the Spirit, are ye now made perfect by the flesh? (Galatians 3:3).

    Now after reading all this, I know some still have great confidence in their obedience and the power and determination of their flesh to please God and they have purposed in their heart to keep all of God’s commandments and fulfill the purpose they believe God has for their life. I agree with them that is a very noble undertaking. Maybe they can succeed where Paul failed!

    For we are the circumcision, which worship God in the spirit, and rejoice in Christ Jesus, and have no confidence in the flesh. Though I might also have confidence in the flesh. If any other man thinketh that he hath whereof he might trust in the flesh, I more: Circumcised the eighth day, of the stock of Israel, of the tribe of Benjamin, an Hebrew of the Hebrews; as touching the law, a Pharisee; Concerning zeal, persecuting the church; touching the righteousness which is in the law, blameless. But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ (Philippians 3:3-7).

    Hope this helps,

    Frank

  15. Frank,

    I see we have much in common. I walked that way for more years than I care to remember, when the answer to my lack repentance was in not being Spirit-filled. When I am Spirit-led I walk in victory because I am being controlled by the Holy Spirit. Unfortunately, I still take up the reigns sometimes by becoming self-absorbed and self-focused. This always makes me Soul-led rather than Spirit-led and that is when anger grows into bitterness and self-absorption grows into depression. On the other hand, as I walk in the spirit, I can plainly see God’s way as opposed to Man’s way and take that path. It is amazing.

    Thanks for sharing that.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  16. Frank and Mike,

    I’m tracking with you. So, how do I know for sure that I am “walking in the Spirit” and not of my own? Obviously, my flesh wants to walk it’s way apart from God. Yet, I know that when one walks in the Spirit, he gains victory over everything. For a while, I was in victory, but I have obviously stumbled. What did, if I may so boldly ask,
    you do to solidly walk in the Spirit? Biblical references greatly appreciated (and were very much so in the previous posts).

    Gilbert

  17. Gilbert,

    The difference is amazing. You will know when you are Spirit-filled because you will do things you would never do in the flesh such as, submitting to people who do not deserve it, submitting to your spouse, your friends, your boss, etc. Prayerfully read Ephesians 5 & 6 then Romans 12. Contact me anytime.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  18. Mike,

    Thank you for your prayers and encouragement. God is working out the problems I am facing and I am trusting in His sovereignty to take care of me.

    After reading your next post about the recently martyred men in Turkey I was humbled by how trivial my problems are in comparison to what they endured and what their loved ones are enduring.

    It’s by God’s grace that we live in a country where something like this is not what we have to worry about. But if the church doesn’t start taking God’s word seriously, my fear is that we are not far from having to live knowing we may be persecuted for proclaiming the truth of God’s word.

    I’ve read some other posts here and can see that you are having a positive impact on many lives, you are being quite the shepherd. Don’t underestimate the work God is accomplishing through you. I appreciate your humility and willingness to give God the glory for being the real voice behind your writings. Rejoice in knowing that you are being an obedient tool for Christ and are strengthening His church. What an awesome ministry He has given you. I pray there are more being raised up like you, maybe even as a result of your teachings here.

    As a part time Seminary student and full time employee, I don’t get to spend as much time reading and studying your work, but I enjoy what reading I’ve been able to do. Thank you for blessing me and I look forward to some down time in July to avail myself of your writings.

    God Bless,
    Trish

  19. Trish,

    I am more amazed than anyone that God is using my ministry this way. You hang in there Trish. Just surrender your all to Him, be content in Him, seek only His glory and watch what happens. You are really busy. I remember when I was working full time and working on a degree full time. How tired I became….

    In Christ

    Mike Raltiff

  20. Hello Gilbert,

    What puts you “in the Spirit” is the spiritual newbirth, or being “born again”, not choosing to do spiritual things.

    But ye are not in the flesh, but IN THE SPIRIT, if so be that the Spirit of God dwell in you. Now if any man have not the Spirit of Christ, he is none of his (Romans 8:9 KJV).

    Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God. That which is born of the flesh is flesh: and that which is born of the Spirit IS SPIRIT. Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again (John 3:6 KJV).

    Brethren’ if a man be overtaken with a fault, YE WHICH ARE SPIRITUAL, restore such a one in the spirit of meekness; considering thyself, lest thou also be tempted (Galatians 6:1 KJV).

    I want to explain how the Christian gets their character, because many have changed the Gospel from “Jesus IS the Way” to “Jesus SHOWED the way” (i.e. WWJD) and turned Jesus into nothing more than a heavenly inspired teacher that shows us “a way” to God. Much like other religions believe that “ascended masters” showed them “a way” to god.
    I want to explain in this post why a spiritual union to Jesus through the Holy Spirit (1 Cor 6:17 KJV) which no other religion offers, creates the spiritual newbirth. Christianity is not making a “comittment” or vow to follow Jesus’ teachings and precepts. A man can be committed to his wife in all aspects of his life to the point of sacrificing his life for her, but he will never be able to bear fruit until he becomes one with her. The result of that union is a newbirth and a new creation.

    Wherefore my brethern, ye are also are dead to the law by the body of Christ; that ye should be married to another, even to him who is raised from the dead, the we should bring forth fruit unto God (Romans 7:4 KJV).

    Jesus said that the kingdom of God is like a seed that is planted.

    And he said, So is the kingdom of God, as if a man should cast seed into the ground; And should sleep, and rise night and day, and the seed should grow up, he knoweth not how (Mark 4:26,27 KJV).

    Some pastors like to use the analogy of an acorn, when explaining the spiritual groweth. See a whole oak tree exists in an acorn. The acorn knows just what to do to produce an oak tree, if it is just planted and watered. God is the one who designed the seed to grow. Paul explained this to the Corinthians.

    I have planted, Apollos watered; but God gave the increase (1 Corinthians 3:6 KJV).

    Peter tied the “seed” to the newbirth.

    Being born again, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, by the word of God, which liveth and abideth for ever (1 Peter 1:23 KJV).

    Who is this incorruptible seed that has been sown in your heart? The Word made flesh!

    Now to Abraham and his seed were the promises made. He saith not, And to seeds, as of many; but as of one, And to THY SEED, which is CHRIST (Galatians 3:16 KJV).

    The seed that is growing in you is Christ. But what starts the seed growing?

    Thou fool, that which thou sowest is not quickened, except it die: (1 Corinthians 15:36 KJV).

    When did we die so this seed could start growing Christ in us? At the cross of course!

    I am crucifed WITH CHRIST: nevertheless I live; YET NOT I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me (Galatians 2:20 KJV).

    Your outward man of the flesh, is crucified with Christ, and is dying while the inward spiritual man is being renewed day by day by the work of the Holy Spirit.

    For which cause we faint not; but though our outward man perish, yet the inward man is renewed day by day (2 Corinthians 4:16 KJV).

    What happens now is the two natures are at war, flesh against Spirit, and Spirit against flesh (Romans 5:17 KJV). There is travail.

    But the God of all grace, who hath called us unto his eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after that ye have suffered a while, make you perfect, stablish, strengthen, settle you (1 Peter 5:10 KJV).

    This is how the Holy Spirit explained to me how two seperate beings can exist in one body. A woman that is pregnant with child has two different lives inside one body. The life of the mother and the life of her child. Although the child is dependant on the mother for a while the child is a totally new creation, with a new future than the mother. The child now carries half of the fathers nature! The new spiritual man that is growing in the Christian is Christ. Paul said:

    My little children, of whom I travail in birth again until CHRIST BE FORMED IN YOU (Galatians 4:19 KJV).

    Whosoever is born of God doth not commit sin; for HIS SEED REMAINETH in him: and HE CANNOT SIN, because he is born of God (1 John 3:9 KJV).

    Remember you were born again by INCORRUPTABLE SEED which we have already seen is not you, but Christ in you. The Word made flesh.

    Being born again, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, by the word of God, which liveth and abideth for ever (1 Peter 1:23 KJV).

    Examine yourselves,whether ye be in the faith; prove your own selves. Know ye not your own selves, how that JESUS CHRIST IS IN YOU, except ye be reprobates? (2 Corinthians 13:5 KJV).

    If you want to win the race Gilbert, yield to the Spirit and He will create the very Christian character you seek.

    For we are HIS workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them (Ephesians 2:10 KJV).

    Run the race that is set before you with PATIENCE Gilbert, looking to Jesus Christ and you will win the race!

    Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, Looking UNTO JESUS the author AND FINISHER or our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God (Hebrews 12:1,2 KJV).

    I leave you with this Gilbert and all that has “ears to hear”:

    My brethern, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. BUT LET PATIENCE have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing (James 1:2-4 KJV).

    Hope this helps,

    F Whittenburg

  21. “we are not far from having to live knowing we may be persecuted for proclaiming the truth of God’s word.”
    Trish,
    I think you may be on to something….
    love,
    Loretta

  22. Mike, This writing has been heavy on my mind for a few days.

    I feel compelled to cut and paste four sections for emphasis. Not really much of a comment but a statement of the urgency of what you have written.

    “John the Baptist called the Jews to repentance and obedience. His major focus was to call them out of the works based religion which the scribes and Pharisees had created. Their religion, while based within the Law of God, had not the spirit of the Law, but only the letter of it. The focus was not on knowing God through the Law, but on attempting to become acceptable to God via keeping the Law plus the thousands of other rules and regulations the scribes and Pharisees had piled up on top of it. Their religion was all performance with no mercy or grace. John’s message was to turn from this works based religion back to seeking the face of God with a penitent heart.

    God is calling His people again to turn away from empty religion in brokenness and repentance to walk before Him with penitent hearts in full obedience.

    “Now is the time to repent, turn from sin, turn your hearts to God for forgiveness and cleansing, walk in repentance, abide in Christ, deny yourselves, take up your crosses and follow Jesus, and be Spirit-filled!”

    Time is short. We are quickly approaching the time when seals will be broken, trumpets blown and bowls poured out. We must examine ourselves, asking God to show us what needs to be severed from our lives and what must be taken up. When Jesus does return, and He will, will He find faith on the Earth?

  23. Kim,

    That is the message I received from God. Who will respond? Who will hear and obey? It is heartbreaking that despite these calls from God, the Compromised Church, the Scarlet Woman is still filling up the cup of wrath from our Lord because of it’s man-focused non-Christianity. We must speak this message, we must write this message so God will call out those in her who are His. Come out from her!

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  24. Pingback: Sacrificing to Moloch « Defending. Contending.

Comments are closed.