Christ the Wisdom and Power of God

by Mike Ratliff

18 For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. 19 For it is written,
“I will destroy the wisdom of the wise,
and the discernment of the discerning I will thwart.” (1 Corinthians 1:18-19 ESV)

Genuine humility is found only in genuine believers. What the world sees as humility is often just self-deprecation, which is pride in reverse masquerading as humility. Then genuinely humble believer is the one who sees their true position before God. God’s ways are not our ways. The way people conceive of things naturally is not the way God does. For instance, when the Jews conceived of their Messiah coming they envisioned a conquering hero on a white horse defeating the Romans and setting up His capital in Jerusalem. However, what they got was a baby born in stable who had only a feeding trough for a bed. He did not come into the world at the head of an army to live in palaces. Instead our Saviour came as a man who lived a perfect sinless life, preached the truth, healed the sick, raised the dead then laid His life down as a perfect sacrifice, the Lamb of God, to take away the sins of His people.

The Kingdom of God is made up of our Lord’s people here on earth and in Heaven where He rules and reigns. Some day all of creation will be brought under His sovereign control as it is in Heaven right now. Here on earth God’s people see the truth as through a dark glass. We have finite minds that cannot contain the absolute truth about our infinite God. All attacks against Christianity are made via some form of human reasoning or philosophy. The man-made religions in the world all attack genuine Christianity through their “wisdom.” What does scripture tell us about this?

20 Where is the one who is wise? Where is the scribe? Where is the debater of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? 21 For since, in the wisdom of God, the world did not know God through wisdom, it pleased God through the folly of what we preach to save those who believe. 22 For Jews demand signs and Greeks seek wisdom, 23 but we preach Christ crucified, a stumbling block to Jews and folly to Gentiles, 24 but to those who are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. 25 For the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men. (1 Corinthians 1:20-25 ESV)

Think with me here. The way to God is through Christ alone. The way to Christ is through the cross. It isn’t by becoming smart and educated. It isn’t by being wise in the ways of the world. No, Christians become Christians through the preaching of Christ crucified. This is foolishness or a stumbling block to the uncalled, but to the called it is Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. What the world sees as foolishness is wiser than the highest wisdom of men. The horrible specter of our Lord and Saviour dying on the cross is seen as weakness to men, but is stronger than the strongest thing of which men can conceive. Who are called?

26 For consider your calling, brothers: not many of you were wise according to worldly standards, not many were powerful, not many were of noble birth. 27 But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong; 28 God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are, 29 so that no human being might boast in the presence of God. 30 He is the source of your life in Christ Jesus, whom God made our wisdom and our righteousness and sanctification and redemption. 31 Therefore, as it is written, “Let the one who boasts, boast in the Lord.” (1 Corinthians 1:26-31 ESV)

This is quite humbling isn’t it? God chose the foolish in the world to shame the wise. Not many of them are wise according to the worldly standards. Not many are powerful or of noble birth. Instead, we are the weak and foolish in the world’s eyes. Why? God did it this way to shame the wise and the strong. Also, those who are called are so much nothing in the world’s eyes and their own that they must know that they may never boast in the presence of God. The genuinely humble believer knows his or her place before God. They do not think they have eternal life because they deserved it or earned it. Does this mean that God is taking a huge chance in trusting such lowly people to be His?

God chose us because there is nothing in us that is good or worthy. It was for that very reason. Within His people there are some who seem to be chosen for special work that defies reason in how impacting it is. This is God working through His special anointed servants. He chose them for this. Why? He chose them because they did not have ends of the their own to serve. These special servants of God do not believe there is anything in them that God could use like that. They were chosen and used because they came to the end of their self-sufficiency. He then chose them to follow Him and obey Him for His purposes.

Those who walk close with their Lord know their poverty. They understand how low they are, but they also know in whom they have believed and they seek His glory in all things. They know they are of no use to God in themselves. They are not out for their own cause. They still see through a dark glass and don’t know all that God is doing. However, they still maintain their relationship with Him, staying in the race He has set before them with their eyes firmly fixed on the Lord. Those who jealously guard their closeness with God are those who appear foolish to the world. Why? They would rather spend time in Bible Study and prayer and service than dissipation. The world has nothing to offer them that can take the place of their spirit-led walk with their Saviour. They know that their relationship with the Lord is far more important than the work they do in service. In fact, this is what God tells us is the most important thing we are to do. Our enemy knows how vital it is as well. He really isn’t too concerned about our feeble ministries, but he will assail our close personal time with God with full warfare. Why? If we are not spending time in the prayer closet and in the Word of God then how well can we serve Him? In fact, if we are neglecting the most important thing we will end up ministering perfunctorily instead of by being Spirit-led.

I used to run long distance in the early eighties. I was in my late twenties and early thirties then. I could run a five-minute mile to finish a 10K race. I was running in a race nearly every Saturday back then. However, there were good weeks and bad weeks in my daily training runs. If I became consumed in fatigue (because I was dwelling on it too much) I trained poorly and that affected my racing big time. However, if I took care of myself by eating right, sleeping right, and working out right I could run a race with a confidence that usually resulted in a good finish. Most of my friends back then would just shake their heads and say stuff like, “I don’t know how you do it. You aren’t built like a runner. How do you do this?” I could do it because I prepared and God gave me the ability to run very efficiently. However, if I became distracted where I did not train or I did not eat right or sleep right then I could not do it.

What is the correlation? We must make up our minds what is more important. Are our desires more important than God’s glory? Is it more important that people think we are “God’s man” or “God’s woman” than it is to see God work in other people’s hearts despite our weaknesses and poverty? You know the answers to those questions. What are we to do about it? We must examine ourselves. We must look closely at our motives for all we do in “ministry” or “service.” Is God central? Is His glory our number one goal in all we do? We are imperfect people, but we can dedicate ourselves to living for these things and God will help us do them if we will come to Him with penitent hearts by being poor in spirit. Then we must commit ourselves to running the race God has set before us, eyes firmly fixed on our Saviour. Soli Deo Gloria!

Powered by Qumana

69 thoughts on “Christ the Wisdom and Power of God

  1. “God chose us because there is nothing in us that is good or worthy. ”

    God’s love is not object driven, it is nature driven. He is love and His nature is love. Why was I a recipient? I’ve tried to figure that one out and have been led back to Him, not me.

  2. It is a poor sad man who thinks the things of God can be discerned with the intellect and with reason.

    Mike you teach without the illumination of the Holy Spirit.

    As A.W. Tozer said:

    “John answered and said, A man can receive nothing, except it be given him from Heaven.”

    John 3:27

    “Here in a brief sentence is the hope and despair of mankind, “A man can receive nothing”. From the context we know that John is speaking of spiritual truth. He is telling us that there is a kind of Truth which can never be grasped by the intellect, for the intellect exists for the apprehension of ideas, and this truth consists not in ideas but in life. Divine Truth is of the nature of spirit and for that reason can be received only by spiritual revelation. “Except it be given him from Heaven”.

    “Through the light of nature man’s moral reason may be enlightened, but the deeper mysteries of God remain hidden to him until he has received illumination from above”

    “But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: For they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, becsue they are spiritually discerned”

    1 Corinthians 2:14

    “When the Spirit illuminates the heart, the a part of the man sees which never saw before; a part of him know which never knew before, and that kind of thinking with a kind of knowing which the most acute thinker cannot imitate.”

    Mike you teach like the disciples of John the Baptist” repentance only. Jesus taught how to be born again of the Spirit, when you are born again of the spirit, you teach spiritual things that only those whom the Holy Spirit draws and have been given enlightenment to discern the things of the spirit.

    There are two types of teaching and preaching:

    1. Teaching and Preaching without the Power of the Holy Spirit, which teaches the letter of the word which kills.

    2. Teaching and Preaching with the Power of the Holy Spirit which gives life.

    I am sorry but you teach without the Power of the Holy Spirit, you teach the letter and it kills

  3. We would be so lost ,without Him. There would be no hope ,without Him. The world would be a dark and gloomy place, without Him. He is the light in our life. I have nothing to give Him . He already owns it all as He is the creator. If He chose me I most humbly submit to Him.

  4. Very good post and it should keep us humble…I’m not always humble I must admit. Henry, very good too!!!

  5. John,
    I’ve read and reread your comment several times and compared it to my post and for the life of me I cannot see how what I said was in any way different than what Tozer said. Could you enlighten me to what you are objecting to here?
    In Christ
    Mike Ratliff

  6. John,

    I am not sure how you came to that conclusion about Mike’s teaching. Permit me to point out a fallacy in your theology.

    When Paul wrote that “the letter killeth”, he was not alluding to words. Rather he was alluding to the Law of Moses. Please read 2 Corinthians 3:1-11. The letter (Law) kills; the Spirit (the NT) gives life.

    I have seen that phrase abused so often. For some reason, people think that the Holy Spirit’s illumination means that He changes the meaning of the words or the message clearly conveyed in a passage.

    No; He enables us to see it. But the meaning/message is unchanging. Its like a blind man looking at a red shirt. The shirt is red; but he sees not. If by a miracle or medical science he is enabled to see, what he sees is still a red shirt.

    The Holy Spirit is the ‘Enabler’ who helps us see spiritual truth. But He does not change what is written.

    People read the words of the Bible and yet do not see the need for salvation. Then one day, they receive illumination or regeneration by the Spirit, and they see those words clearly. But the meanings do not change.

    Jesus said that His words are spirit and life. His words, as given by Himself and the apostles, have been put in writing for us. But written or spoken, they are spirit and life.

    I hope that helps. Apologies to Mike for such a long-winded one. But I couldn’t find a short-cut to explaining this.

    Personally, I have been blessed reading this post. It ministered life abundantly to me! Glory to God.

    Love in Christ,

    Yomi

  7. Deb,

    I pray that God will shine His light of truth in this. Our faith and trust in our Lord Jesus Christ is what really counts. It is borne out in our obedience as to whether it is real in us or not. Our stands on eschatology should not be the basis for separation from other brothers and sisters in Christ. If that is the the case here then I pray that I will not make that mistake myself.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  8. Deborah – my closed minded hate monger assessment is still looking for a human home since I could not find enough evidence to capture Mike with it. Soooo…. I’m starting to see some promising candidates, don’t you think?

    (satire meant to convey something through humor)

  9. Amen Mike,

    I see that some of our brothers and sisters on the opposite side of eschatology as angry that we don’t share their belief on that point. We are all brothers and sisters in Christ. I am praying for all of us not to let that issue divide us.

  10. I seriously think John was reading another site, somehow had his arrow on your site (your site would be under their heading “Blogs I Hate Because They Know More Than Me”), fell asleep, at which time his forehead hit the mouse and clicked onto your site, the banging of his forehead awoke him, he had no idea he had changed sites and decided to comment on the garbage he just read, and is now scratching head thinking, “I’m not in Kansas anymore…ouch!” :(

  11. Hey, watch it Mike, my daughter is an R.N. :)
    Sarah, You should try writing. You are funny. :)

  12. Deborah and Sarah,
    I work with Nurses all the time and my son is a Resident at GWU Hospital in D.C. I tell him that he must be nice to the Nurses. :-)

  13. Mike,

    I was only going for humor. :) I am still in shock and dismay about this situation. The wolf hasn’t stepped forward to deny our allegations and our assumptions are probably true. I will not allow that to distract me from the Lord. That is just the thing you were talking about in your former post. Something crept in trying to destroy our faith and It didn’t work. Praise our Lord Jesus Christ.. Have mercy on us, oh have mercy on us

  14. “Blogs I hate because they know more than me”

    LOL

    How about:

    “Blogs that are beneath me”
    “Blogs that are easy targets”
    “Blogs that feed my ego”
    “Blogs that provide me with a raison d’ etre.”
    “Blogs that make me sin”
    “Blogs that need my wisdom”
    “Blogs that wish they were me”

    And so on…

  15. Mike,

    My soul has had enough of the contempt of the proud. Without love you have nothing and I see or feel no love from these brothers and sisters.

    In Christs love
    Deborah

  16. Deborah – let it go into the sea of forgetfullness. The body of Christ is full of all different kinds of people, but as you point out without love we have nothing. Showing love while confonting compromise is a fleshly minefield indeed.

    But to get into the flesh over eschatology as some do indicates the lack of maturity on some level. We should be sharing with excitement what we believe could be true about the glorious appearing of the Great God and our Savior Jesus Christ.

    Jesus, the Creator and Savior of the world, is returning. That revelation is a universal truth throughout the true church. When and where is a glorious study that drives us to the Word but should never drive us apart. That is the workings of the Evil One. God bless you, Deborah.

  17. Rachel,

    Where were you commenting to John? Is it under the post Mike closed on the 20th, because your trying to overtake his ministry with yours.

  18. My, my, I missed alot here while we were finishing up a book by G.K. Beale:) John, if you’re checking in on all the comments to see if you caused a ‘rucuss’, here is some advise for you…….Go harass another blog site that will appease your opinion. If you don’t like what Mike says, then just go somewhere else. He is a true brother and you better be careful what you accuse one of the Lords children of………….

  19. Well I just have to praise God. Mike unknowingly wrote posts that brought the darkness into the full view of all of us here. Now you could not convince me that Mike doesn’t possess the Holy Spirit! God wanted us to see what was really going on. Praise our Father. He is watching us sheep. Bless you all

  20. Deborah,

    Yes, with emphasis on the “unknowingly.” I am just as surprised about this as you are. However, God is infinite and will use us as He sees fit to work things out according to His will. We are just to trust, serve and obey.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  21. Please forgive me if I don’t have all my facts correct about all of this today.
    It still all boils down to the same thing. People sure are aggressive about their belief. No matter what, they are going to believe it. Really, they are the ones that ask all the questions. They then dismiss all of your answers and shove rows and rows of scripture into your face, Repeat and repeat. Even to the point of calling you a heretic because you don’t believe. I guess I had enough of the contempt of the proud and today was the final straw. Forgive me all

  22. Deborah,

    A day of enlightenment and learning may not be fun and if we are not careful we will have to be on our knees seeking our Lord’s face and His forgiveness for something.

    David would not let Joab’s brother kill his accuser while he fled Jerusalem to escape Absolom. Why? He said that perhaps the Lord was using that man to humble him, to provoke him to pray and repent, etc.

    However, just before he died David told Solomon to have that man killed. What was his crime? He had committed the sin of bearing false witness against David.

    We are not to judge those who accuse us falsely. Instead, we are to place this at the feet of our Lord. He is judge. We must only judge ourselves and repent of what the Lord shows us.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  23. Have Thine own way Lord, Have Thine own way, Thou art the potter, I am the clay. Father,
    break me, humble me so that I may worship you in Spirit and in Truth. Please remove any false humility and replace it with true humility. Lord Jesus, teach me how to be your servant and to serve others. Please humble me my Saviour.
    In Your most holy and precious name,
    Amen.

    Mike,
    I thank the Lord for your last 2 articles, they have been a blessing to me. God bless you brother!!!

    In Christ,
    Derrick

    P.S. Yes, even though I’m premill I still do lurk around here :) LOL

  24. Derrick,

    I knew it wasn’t you. You have love. It shines through your words and always did. :) Your heart is soft.

  25. Thanks brother!! I just want you to know that I love you in Christ bro!! All glory to Him!!!!

    In Christ,
    Derrick

  26. Deborah,

    You said to me:
    “Rachel,
    Where were you commenting to John? Is it under the post Mike closed on the 20th, because your trying to overtake his ministry with yours.”

    I don’t know what you are trying to say or ask. What are you talking about? And whose ministry are you saying I am trying to take over??? Sorry, please clarify. I thought this whole eschatology issue was supposed to be off topic? You’ve brought it up again for some reason?

    If you are trying to rebuke me for something, please make your rebuke as I will understand better if you just make a forthright statement.

    In Christ,
    Rachel

  27. Also Deborah,

    So I understand, are saying that the John who posted on this post is the same post from the “delusion” post that Mike shut down? Because that John has been quite complimentary of Mike on his post. Just trying to get clarity and to understand why or how I have upset you?

    You also made the comment:
    “I see that some of our brothers and sisters on the opposite side of eschatology as angry that we don’t share their belief on that point.”

    I didn’t see any responses about eschatology on
    this post before yours. Did I miss something?

    In Christ,
    Rachel

  28. WHOA.

    John – What?????

    Deborah – WHAT?????

    Am I missing something? Was this article about eschatology? “I see that some of our brothers and sisters on the opposite side of eschatology as angry that we don’t share their belief on that point. ” What? “It’s probably a former poster who doesn’t like your belief on amill.” What?? “The wolf hasn’t stepped forward to deny our allegations and our assumptions are probably true.” How dare you! Talk about judging others based on reeeally off the wall assumptions.

    Mike – I read your article and thought it was excellent. Then I read the comments and am literally shaking right now and seriously offended. What on earth would make Deborah or anyone else think that someone with another position on the millenium would automatically be capable of such nastiness? This is ugly, it is unwarranted, and it needs some serious consideration and prayer.

    Mike, you said, “We are not to judge those who accuse us falsely. Instead, we are to place this at the feet of our Lord. He is judge. We must only judge ourselves and repent of what the Lord shows us.” Amen, and I will try to do that now also. Deborah, you are certainly accusing some brethren here with no evidence. Some bizarre poster puts some nonsense on here and your heart leaps to some awful assumption about people who don’t believe exactly the way you do? I would caution you to examine your own heart, as that is where this whole idea originated.

    Mike, I don’t know who John is, I don’t agree with a thing he said, and I have grown to respect you and love you dearly as my brother in the Lord. It means nothing to me in regards to you as a brother in the Lord what your millennial view is. I haven’t been to this site for days because I am busy with two little ones, and then I come back today and see these awful accusations. I am so deeply hurt. I only hope they were not directed at me. But even if they were directed at someone else…I have to be honest, I don’t know if I can return here if you agree with the general (seeming) consensus that people who see end times differently are automatically “wolves.” I am heartsick.

    In Christ’s love.

  29. Sharon,
    Deb and I have been talking offline. She is dealing with this with the Lord right now. It has been a very bizzare day. However, God is good. Even in all of this God has been able to open eyes and perhaps mature some of us a bit and humble some of us.
    No one is going to be “branded” or “labeled” because of their view on Eschatology here. Not by me or anyone else. That is not the point of this blog.
    What have we learned? Jesus is our focus. He is our all in all. He is Lord. We must obey Him. We must repent and follow Him fully trusting Him. He is coming back and we must be ready. Also, we must not judge those who accuse us falsely. Let the Lord take care of that. Do we tell the truth from His Word event to those who don’t want to hear it? Absolutely. The Lord will rebuke people through this.
    Let us lay all of our disagreements here at the feet of Jesus and simply obey Him.
    In Christ
    Mike Ratliff

  30. Rachel,

    First: The first part of that was incorrect and I apologize for that Rachel.

    Second: I really was tired of the Mike and others bashing already, and then John so rudely rebuked Mike and accused Him of not having the Holy Spirit guiding him.
    Just because others don’t see scripture the same doesn’t make your interpretation right and theirs wrong. Sometimes it is true and sometimes it doesn’t matter. In this case we see the answer.

    Third: As women we are in subjection to men . They are the head of us we are not the Bible study leaders.
    It is up to each individual to discern who we are learning under. Once you make the choice that God is using them, as they are called to do that.
    Then we are blessed by what God is clearly telling us through them. If we don’t agree, we don’t argue with them and insist that we are right. It blocks our “ears” to hear and “eyes” to see as it does not follow the plan that is written in scripture. ( Timothy) It’s disrespectful to the men and our Lord. We are called to love one another as Christ loves us.

    Deborah

  31. One thing seems to always come to mind when I read blog comments:

    “When there are many words, transgression is unavoidable, but he who restrains his lips is wise.” Prov 10:19

    It is one reason I usually refrain from posting my own thoughts about many a topic.

  32. Mike – thank you for your words. I can take someone saying things that make no sense to me (John’s post…honestly I couldn’t make heads or tails of it to be offended) and I can even take someone else calling me a wolf for no reason (although that really felt bad…I’ll deal with it). What I can’t take (and still come here) is feeling like the initial accusation toward (I still don’t know if it was toward me?) premillenialists caused a comradery based in judgment among others on here. Ick. In that case, I think you can see why I would feel uncomfortable coming back. It didn’t feel like a “room” full of God’s people anymore. I’m assuming you meant by your answer that you didn’t agree with Deborah? I don’t want to post here if you don’t want me to, or if others don’t want me to. I come here to be fed and have fellowship. I don’t want to be where I am not wanted. I’m too busy and our real enemies are enough trouble.

    sjonss, you were the only one who made me feel like you saw it for what it was…silly. Thank you for the humor. :-) You have such a sweet heart.

  33. Sharon,

    The wolf comment was directed at “John” only not anyone else. At least that is how I took it. It had nothing to do with eschatology at all. It was referring to the comment in question that was so puzzling. Yes, Sarah is quite funny. :-)

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  34. Mike – You took it that way because you don’t have an unkind bone in your body…which is why I have loved coming here from the start. Your disposition and heart for God comes through in your writing. If that’s not evidence of the Holy Spirit, I don’t know what is. :-) Thank you for letting me know your position. I can sleep peacefully now!

    Love, your sister in Christ,
    Once confused

  35. Deborah,

    I will address each of your 3 sections.

    First: Apology accepted

    Second: I don’t like to see anyone “bashed” either. We can agree to disagree. The truth divides. Whether you are right, I am right or we are both wrong, there is only one correct interpretation of the scripture, there is only one truth. That is why I was referring to so much scripture. I was trying to share something great taught to me by the Holy Spirit. The reason I, as you refer to it, ” shove rows and rows of scripture into your face” is not to be a “know it all” or “proud” or “right” as has also been referred to but to show scriptural evidence I received.

    Third: I thought this was a discussion blog. Am I only allowed to post if I am in agreement? I assure you I was not doing anything that Mike had not personally asked me to do in a private e-mail before these particular posts were posted. I believed that he sincerely wanted my opinions and help on eschatology. I have never known him to be insincere. If I were sitting under someone like Joel Olstein who said something like “sometimes we have to forgive God”, I definately would confront him. Just because someone is male does not make them correct. Scripture alone determines whether teaching is correct. I have a great deal of respect for Mike and this blog, which is why I had dropped the matter.

    Hopefully we can move past this and fellowship with one another. I normally enjoy your responses here :-) and consider you my sister in Christ.

    Love in Christ,
    Rachel

  36. Well, since you asked……… http://www.earthbygod.wordpress.com and I have poems and lullabies on the Quotes and Poems blog you have listed. Boy, I hope all this flattering (and those saying I have a sweet heart!) isn’t going to bring on more trials to cure my pride…I’ll be looking your way if so! I’ll try to keep my nose above water! :)

  37. I did not feel comfortable when the issue of eschatology was introduced as to the identity of John. It may have been intended as a joke, but I felt too that it would offend our brothers and sisters. I’m glad this issue has been sorted out.

    As has been said by others better than myself, it has been a great time learning from all this. I appreciate the atmosphere of submission to God’s word and to one another. Surely this will strengthen us in our walk with the Lord. Let’s stay strong in the bond of love.

    Love to you all,

    Yomi

  38. If everyone re-reads the comment section on this post it should become evident that due to one harsh and judgmental comment, a whole string of misundersatndings can eminate from that one unfortunate inerjection.

    See how the evil One works to cause conflict among the brethren? It can happen just from one comment and from that every evil work can come. It is usually best to leave it alone, especially when it is of such an incongruous spirit than the rest of the comments.

    Where there is no wood a fire ceases.

    Mike Ratliff, the new lion tamer!

  39. That was very perceptive of you Rick. However, it is God working through all of us that tamed that lion and put out the fires of dissension. Our godly wisdom comes from God, but we often have to go through many trials to make it our own. The peace and enlightenment that came from this was God’s work. All in Christ know their master’s voice and follow Him, but we don’t always recognize the voice of our enemy. That is true discernment that comes from God’s wisdom and through our progressive sanctification. In other words, we all have to experience the fire of our enemy’s accusations sometimes in order to know what is REALLY going on. Oh Lord give us wisdom and discernment.
    In Christ
    Mike Ratliff

  40. Paul,

    I thank you for your prayers and I pray for God to continue to lead you through the narrow way that leads to life. Thanks for the great link brother!

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  41. Good point, Mike. Once in a while the Scripture “answer not a fool in his folly” comes into play. We all can learn from this kind of discussion.

    By the way, your orignal reference was that the word of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing. Is it not neglected and almost ignored by the majority of the Christian world?

    The cross of Christ, from which everything begins and ends. Let us all remove its wrapper afresh and anew, and like a kneeling child on Christmas morning let us hold it high and by the majesty of its wonder we are changed from glory to glory.

    It’s foolishness to the perishing, but to us it is our life, daily and eternal. Thank you, Jesus, for your cross.

  42. Mike,
    I read your article with great interest. I was also taken aback by the attack by John as he responded to your statements.
    I caution your readers not to be caught up in the arguments against John, for Jesus did not even rebuke Satan with an accusation but he responded in simplicity with the word of God, which is sharper then any two edged sword.
    When Jesus was accused of everything by the Priests before Pilate he did not open his mouth. This is the point of the cross. It cuts across the natural mind. I would have been out there defending myself if I was in his shoes. But Jesus shows us the only way to walk…he who wants to be like Jesus must take up his own cross and follow after him, having the same mind as Christ. What was that mind? He was a servant to all…even to Judas. Whilst he was equal with God, he did not consider this, but humbled himself as a man and gave his life freely. And this is what we are called to- to be reviled by the world and by many who call themselves Christian.
    But what is our response to them? Do we accuse them? Isn’t this carnal? But we should add to our faith virtue, knowledge, self control, perserverance, Godliness, kindness and LOVE. This cannot be done without the Holy Spirit for God’s love is beyond me, unless he births that seed in me.
    There is much more to say about the cross. There is so much more, and I have seen the work of the cross change my life and my families even in the last 18 months- and I have been a Christian for 30 years. The power of the cross changes our lives completely. Sin is done away with, not just forgiven through the cross. There is so much more to say on this.

  43. Thank you Roland. You are right. In fact, I am working on post right now addressing this. In fact, over the last several days it seems as if as soon as one false accuser moves on, there is another awaiting me. I am sure God is allowing this, but why? In every case I am positive that what I am being accused of is false, but I must not fight fire with fire. Right? So, without admitting guilt when we know we are not guilty, what do we do? Don’t we simply tell the truth and let God work it out? Please pray for patience and wisdom for me.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

Comments are closed.