Charles Spurgeon Quote

“If we had lain in hell forever, yet divine justice would not have been fully justified, for after thousands of years of suffering there would remain still an eternity of debt due to God’s justice. If God had annihilated all the sinners that ever lived, at one stroke, he would not have so honored his justice as he did when he took sin and laid it on his Son, and his Son bore divine wrath which was due to that sin. For now there has been rendered unto divine justice a full equivalent, a complete recompense for all the dishonor which it suffered.”

10 thoughts on “Charles Spurgeon Quote

  1. This quote is the start of understanding Calvinism vs Arminianism. Calvinist believe that God is gracious because He chooses any, Arminians believe that if He can choose any, He is evil if He passes over the reprobate.

    It’s all how your perception is on the love of God.

  2. Very much so…

    So does Genesis 6 and 8…hearts continually evil, yet God didn’t destroy man again in Gen 8…again…grace showing above wrath.

  3. Seth, think also of God choosing Judah to be over all Israel when the man Judah was a scoundrel. At the same time God did not choose Joseph even though, in man’s eyes he was an outstanding person (he was). To man’s eyes this is backward and wrong. God chose Jacob over Esau even though Jacob as a swindler and did not walk by faith. Esau was totally bypassed by God and that before he was even born. To me it is totally amazing that God chose any of us. And I am grateful for His grace which is beyond amazing.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  4. We agree with you both. Romans 9 is really a tough one that the arminians don’t like to read. The fact that God chose any of us is a miracal. He could of chose to wipe us all out but He didn’t. None of us deserve salvation. How do you describe in words just how thankful and eternally greatfull you are that He didn’t pass you by? I have never been able to come up with enough to express that one.

  5. I think Ephesians 2:8-9 is a very good one. It explains something to me about being chosen. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is a gift of God, not as a result of works, so that no man can boast. After I learned that we are chosen I eventually read that and I figured we were chosen so we couldn’t claim we did anything because of the phrase, so no man can boast. You certainly lose are your judgmental thoughts. :)

  6. I mean the thoughts of wondering why someone just can’t accept Jesus as their Saviour. Just pray and repent. Don’t do this and don’t do that. The morals watcher that I was. I got fooled because I sure fell into the pit of sin myself. Thanks to God I was pulled back out. So I am grateful to be chosen myself as I did nothing to deserve it. God is to good to me.

  7. Uh oh, I just realized that I still do that! Only I just think it mostly. That isn’t nice and I need to have a talk to God about that don’t I?

Comments are closed.