Hymns – His Grace Untold

Christians draw near to their God through prayer, His Word, and worship. If we have a hard time worshiping our Lord because we don’t care for the “worship style” then what is the problem? At my former church many of my generation and older left when the Pastor decided to cut out all hymns and go 100% contemporary. Why do you suppose he did that? I like some contemporary praise and worship songs, however, hymns also carry my heart directly to the throne of almighty God as I bow at His feet in worship.

I received a copy of Tonya Betz’s latest CD a few weeks ago to preview. The title of the CD is “HYMNS – His Grace Untold.” I have been listening to it while I study and write for the last three weeks and have been blessed. The music style is Tonya singing to self-accompanied acoustic guitar. My memory of the wonderful hymns on this CD are of a large choir and the whole assembled church singing together. It is a whole different experience to hear them as Tonya sings and plays. Here is a list of the hymns on this CD.

1. Grace Greater Than All Our Sin
2. I Once Was a Stranger
3. O the Deep, Deep Love of Jesus (this is my favorite one on this CD)
4. My Lord, I Did Not Choose You
5. I Will Sing of My Redeemer
6. All Hail the Power of Jesus’ Name
7. When I Survey the Wondrous Cross
8. Be Thou My Vision
9. The Church’s One Foundation
10. It Is Well With My Soul

The price of the CD is $14.00 which includes shipping and handling. You can order it here. www.tonyabetz.com

Another thing important to know about this CD  is that the music is used in a very dynamic street preaching ministry and proceeds from sales are used to buy Bibles and tracts for that. I highly recommend this CD to you and I recommend that you incorporate it into your own devotional time with the Lord. To Him be all the glory! – Mike Ratliff

8 thoughts on “Hymns – His Grace Untold

  1. Rick, yeah, I like those too! My favorite hymn though is probably Holy, Holy Holy.

    Holy, holy, holy! Lord God Almighty!
    Early in the morning our song shall rise to Thee;
    Holy, holy, holy, merciful and mighty!
    God in three Persons, blessed Trinity!

    Holy, holy, holy! All the saints adore Thee,
    Casting down their golden crowns around the glassy sea;
    Cherubim and seraphim falling down before Thee,
    Who was, and is, and evermore shall be.

    Holy, holy, holy! though the darkness hide Thee,
    Though the eye of sinful man Thy glory may not see;
    Only Thou art holy; there is none beside Thee,
    Perfect in power, in love, and purity.

    Holy, holy, holy! Lord God Almighty!
    All Thy works shall praise Thy Name, in earth, and sky, and sea;
    Holy, holy, holy; merciful and mighty!
    God in three Persons, blessed Trinity!

  2. This morning I decided to wake up to old time hymn music which I get through oldchristianradio.com. I have already heard most of the hymns listed here ! I am going to make this my morning routine as I wake up with my coffee and perusing of the sites on my computer. I have been greatly blessed doing this. BTW, I do love contemporary christian music, but one needs to be careful anymore because there are songs that are not biblical.

  3. Sherry C.,

    On Tonya’s website she says that real worship is how we live. I agree with that. I love Todd Agnew, Casting Crowns, Jermey Camp and others like that because their songs are biblical. You are right about being careful there.

    That’s a good way to wake up Sherry! I added reading prayers from the Valley of Vision to my morning devotional. That really moves your heart to Christ! :-) When we insist on no Hymns or all Hymns what are we saying? It could be that we are not really worshiping God in it at all, but are instead seeking our own. What I go by is if what I am singing or hearing takes me to the throne and God is magnified and worshiped in it. It’s really all about Him.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  4. Mike, I listen to hymns because I have hearing problems that make it hard for me to hear the words of some contemporary songs. So, it may not be so much that the songs are hymns or not, but if I am able to hear the beautiful words of worship without the accompanying written words. I have 6 old Hymnals- all of which were headed for the garbage! The oldest one I have is Pentecostal Hymns Three and Four, 1902. It was put together by Henry Date for the “peculiar needs of the Sunday School, the Young People’s Prayer Meeting, and the Mid-Week Devotiuonal Service.” It is an unauthorized Hymnal and has many “new” hymns in it. My favorite one belonged to my elderly neighbor when she was a child. It was her mother’s Lutheran hymnal. Date: 1918. What a treasure since she is the one who finally came to the Lord for salvation as she was dying. No matter the style we like, let it be to lift our hearts in worship of our wonderful, majestic, gracious God!

  5. One of my all-time favorite hymns is When I Survey The Wonderous Cross in it’s original composition. Many of today’s contemporary singers sing what I call the Michael W. Smith version that adds a chorus in it, “Oh the wonderous cross, oh the wonderous cross ….,” which tries to take the sad and humbling edge off the song. But I think it is much better in its original form.

    I listen to electronic instrumental hymns from the rare CDs by Mark Gasbarro, Quiet Streams (I and II), and a couple of CDs from Jim Reeves of gospel hymns.

  6. Timothy,

    I believe that the updated version was by Chris Tomlin. I’m with you on that one. I prefer the original version that does not soft sell anything.

    I like to listen to Bach.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

Comments are closed.