Godlessness in the Last Days

by Mike Ratliff

These are grumblers, malcontents, following their own sinful desires; they are loud-mouthed boasters, showing favoritism to gain advantage. But you must remember, beloved, the predictions of the apostles of our Lord Jesus Christ. They said to you, “In the last time there will be scoffers, following their own ungodly passions.” It is these who cause divisions, worldly people, devoid of the Spirit. (Jude 1:16-19 ESV)

In the last two posts we have looked at the vast difference between the natural man mindset and the transformed mindset. Only regenerate believers can have the latter while the former is the mindset of everyone else. The transformed mindset should be growing more and more apparent to the believer as they learn to be spirit-filled and walk in obedience to his or her Lord. Now we will take a look at end result of those with the natural man mindset as God gives them up.

If we do a serious study of the sad state of the Church in these last days it should be apparent to anyone who is not spiritually blind that it is very sick. The gap between genuine Christianity and what is false is becoming more and more defined. In the not too distant past, counterfeit and genuine Christianity could only be discerned with a deep investigation. Now, however, the counterfeit church has become so closely associated with the ways of the world, even to the point that the world sees it as harmless and maybe even fun, that the difference is clearly discernible.

On the other hand, the genuine Church, a remnant, remains faithful and is still hated by the world. The Church should never be a friend of the world. It must be separate. Therefore, we learn that one of the main indications that a church is not genuine, being only a religious segment of the world, is how worldly its leadership and members are. How tolerant are they of unrepentant sin? How much do they adhere to the doctrines of our faith? Carefully read the following passage and ask yourself if we are seeing the encroachment of this into the “church.”

But understand this, that in the last days there will come times of difficulty. For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power. Avoid such people. For among them are those who creep into households and capture weak women, burdened with sins and led astray by various passions, always learning and never able to arrive at a knowledge of the truth. Just as Jannes and Jambres opposed Moses, so these men also oppose the truth, men corrupted in mind and disqualified regarding the faith. But they will not get very far, for their folly will be plain to all, as was that of those two men. (2 Timothy 3:1-9 ESV)

Think back a few weeks ago to my series on the doctrines of grace or my posts on required obedience by believers. What was the result? Didn’t those who refuse to bow the knee completely to the Lordship of Christ and the Sovereignty of God dominate the comment section here making comments based entirely in their ignorance of the truth?

We are in the last days. The church is in huge difficulty. The opponents of Biblical Orthodoxy, including the doctrines of grace, are all contaminated by pride. They are lovers of self. Since they are without the power of the Holy Spirit in their lives, they seek fulfillment in what the world has to offer. What is that? They are allured with what money can buy so they love money. Their pride breeds arrogance. Within that “attitude,” they become abusive towards those who they see as mired in orthodoxy. Their natural man mindset cannot grasp the veracity of the Biblical truth that doesn’t fit in their “doctrine,” which is largely made up within their natural man mindset.

They use their mindset’s reasoning parameters to try to understand doctrine, but without the illumination of the Holy Spirit they cannot grasp the truth. Therefore, they reject sound Biblical doctrine because it makes no sense to them. They may be very religious and even leaders in their churches so they have a form of godliness, but their religion is all man-based since their doctrines deny the sovereignty of God and Lordship of Christ. These men see salvation as a work. When confronted with passages such as Ephesians 1 and Ephesians 2:8,9 and John 6:44 and Romans 9 they turn a blind eye and refuse to respond. This does not change them since they are in rebellion and their hearts are hard because of their unbelief.

Again, these people are very religious and even study their Bibles, but even in their learning they are never able to arrive at knowledge of the truth. What is the only hope for such people? Just like those of us who do know the truth, it is a work of the Holy Spirit that opens the heart through regeneration and circumcision that breaks through the callous layers of the heart so that God’s truth can penetrate. I remember very well how God did this in my heart.

Before He did this, my doctrine was one that I had accumulated and stored up since I was a child. It was not based on anything solid in the Bible. It was as I was doing research for a book that I “stumbled upon” several websites that dealt with the ongoing debate between those who held the doctrines of grace and those who despised them. I confess that I had no idea what each side really believed. I had never heard of Arminism. I had heard of Calvinism, but did not know what it really held as the truth. I studied both sides of this debate for many weeks. It seemed that each week saw another point of the 5 points of Calvinism take hold in my heart. As the last one fell, I was truly amazed because suddenly God became huge in my heart. His sovereignty became apparent to my heart and my utter dependence upon Him for my salvation and spiritual growth made it clear how awesome He is.

I reexamined my salvation and my walk since. It soon became very clear that God did it all. He drew me unto Himself. He was, and still is, working in my heart continually to grow me unto Christlikeness.

Therefore, are those mired in godlessness that is man’s version of Christianity hopelessly lost? I think not. I believe God can rescue them just as He did me. However, that does not mean that we stop telling the truth about the churches and leaders of those churches that are off the rails and ate up with the world and its ways. No, we must take a stand against that as we pray for God to break through the lies there and save His people.

Follow this link for an expose’ of one of the false shepherds leading multitudes astray. It also includes a great explanation of their false doctrines.

14 thoughts on “Godlessness in the Last Days

  1. Amen Mike. Its a hard one for people to grasp. The sovereignty of God isn’t popular. They ‘think’ they understand. We were all there once. It takes alot of praying, studying, and God opens your eyes to see and your ears to hear if you are truly His. All that comes to mind is ‘my people perish for lack of knowledge’. He says ‘my people’. HHMM…… Have you listened to Kim R’s latest on The Man of Sin? He has ‘streaming’ so there is no waiting. The latest one is great. Talks about this subject. Can you iiiiiiiiiimmagine if we are the ones to see Jesus return!!??!!?? How exciting can you get!

  2. Paul,

    No, I haven’t listened to it yet. I will try to do that tomorrow. Thanks! Yes, it is exciting. I can’t even find the words to describe that. :-)

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  3. A truly devastating expose, Mike. This is precisely the condition of the current professing (false) church, and its tentacles are reaching literally to every corner of the globe.

    With all the purpose driven madness, emergent confusion, and ecumenical harlotry sweeping the doctrinally desolate landscape of modern church-ianity it’s little wonder we see so many sheep being led to the slaughter.

    The enemy is certainly doing everything within his power to rend Christ’s little flock. Perhaps most disturbing though are the common threads which are so easily seen to be interwoven throughout these seemingly disparate movements.

    All the aforementioned groups plus their word-faith and other sundry aberrant, unorthodox compatriots are leading the charge toward a new age, mystical, occultic unified faith structure which they in their fevered high-noon fantasies believe is required to usher in God’s kingdom on earth.

    In their furtive, desperate efforts to return to Eden they utterly fail to discern that they’re dancing to the devil’s tune and rejecting the faith that was once and for all delivered unto the saints.

    Pray up, speak up, and look up because the coming of the Lord is surely nigh, even at the door.

  4. Amen!

    Lately I have had the words “faithful and true” come to my mind over and over again. We serve an Awesome and Holy God. I can rest in His promises and know that He is always faithful and true. I also want to be faithful and true to Him.

    I have tried to search His Word for how we are to be living in anticipation of His return. What encouragement is received from His word! I started a list in the back of my bible to remind me to obedient and hold fast.

    We are to be diligent in faithful obedience and growth, at peace with God through the Salvation in Jesus Christ. We are to have discernment and grow in knowledge of Christ and reject all those who preach anything inconsistent with God’s word – those who distort the truth. We are to reaffirm Christian truths and faithfully hold onto the certainty of Christ’s return. We are to honor God and center our desires on him. We are to stand firm and hold to the traditions which we were taught in His word. We are to reprove, rebuke, exhort, with great patience and instruction (2 Tim 4) and be rejoicing in hope, and persevering in tribulation, devoted to prayer (Romans 12:12), be zealous and repent (Rev 3:19). We are to wait anxiously and keep ourselves in the love of God (Jude)… and there are so many more!

    Mike thank you for this post. Thank you, Mike, for remaining faithful and true.Time is short.

    Watching and waiting
    Hallelujah! What a Savior!

  5. Thank you for the encouragment “just a mom,” and Amen! Yes, time is short. Won’t it be grand when we all finally meet as our Lord gathers His sheep together? :-)

  6. I received an email from a friend who said that the westernized churches that embrace false doctrine are under the judgement of God. God has given them over to doctrines of men and demons. He believes it won’t be long before no church will be exempt from the false doctrines in one form or another. He also said that true Christians are going through persecution that is passive, i.e., we are having our mouths shut more and more. There is great difficulty in finding a true church to be in fellowship with. The persecution that our brothers and sisters in Christ are experiencing around the world we will most likely not see because, as he said, what will there be to persecute? I tend to agree with him on this. The majority of churches in the western world are about to mount the beast of the Harlot, if some haven’t done so already. Thankfully, God is calling His children out from among them. He did that for me and I am still in awe of it after 2 years!

  7. I agree with that Sherry C. However, there are pockets of genuine churches. I am in one now and am very grateful. If we are in biblicaly sound churches then we should rejoice and thank God for that. I hear from people all the time who share that they either have to drive for many miles to go to a sound church or they have to worship God outside of any church because all the ones around them are compromised. Yes, I was called out of a compromised church in 2006, but God sarted my separation from it about a year earlier. I stayed and fought the compromise unitl God made it clear that it was over, then I left. That time out of that church until we found the one we are in now was not a time of emptiness of falling away by either me or my wife. Our relationship with Him grew deeper during that time. I missed good preaching and fellowship, but God was very good to us during that time.

    Yes, we are very near the end. Let us continue to draw close to Him and not listen to the compromisers.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  8. Drawing closer to God when without a church was my same experience. I visited one church that did the hard preaching that made me see that I had been in a false church prior. My hubby didn’t care much for it. Then we found a church near our home that we both liked but there was lovelessness and excuses for our small congregation to those visiting and we had to leave. Out of fear of lapsing in my faith I soaked myself in God’s Word and prayer. A practice that continues to this day. I have grown more and more. And God has blessed me by peeling the scales off my eyes to some of my erroneous beliefs. That has been difficult but rewarding. And the errors I was in were bad, but I see that its getting worse and worse in heretical beliefs. God has helped me to know these things and I have had to leave yet another church because of what I have been shown. I still have hope that we will find a church that we both like, but my hubby is not saved and still has WOF in his system.

  9. Sherry C.,

    I have some close relatives who are mired in WOF. It is heartbreaking. Their interpretation of the Gospel is heretical, their interpreation of discipleship is herectical. However, you can’t point them in the right direction without them saying you are legalistic and are not spirit-filled. Therefore, I have learned to ignore their emails that spout their ‘doctrine’ while not allowing their comments to derail walk by faith. They are entirely in bondage to their false theology and that makes them spiriutally blind. God help them…

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  10. Mike, As you know my wife went to Rhema and got out of it quickly seeing the deception. God showed her while she was in it. We have some friends who are in the wof and she talked to them for hours on end about the falseness. In fact years of talking to them. Well hang in there Mike because these friends who we sort of seperated ourselves from but continued to pray for, came out of the false movement. A Baptist pastor who is a sub high school teacher in history who knows them talked to them too. Well we don’t know for sure at this time if they have truly seen the light but they are atleast out of the ‘church’ that was false. We continue to pray for them that the Lord opens their eyes and ears. Sometimes its a slooooooow process. But we have seen some progress over the last 7 years. We pray yours will see and hear it also.

  11. Stand in the gate of the LORD’s house, and proclaim there this word, and say, Hear the word of the LORD, all you …who enter these gates to worship the LORD.”
    “Behold, you trust in deceptive words to no avail. Will you …swear falsely, make offerings to Baal, and go after other gods that you have not known, and then come and stand before me in this house, which is called by my name, and say, ‘We are delivered!’—only to go on doing all these abominations?
    Has this house, which is called by my name, become a den of robbers in your eyes? Behold, I myself have seen it, declares the LORD.
    (Jeremiah 7:2,8-11)

    “To whom shall I speak and give warning, that they may hear? Behold, their ears are uncircumcised, they cannot listen; behold, the word of the LORD is to them an object of scorn; they take no pleasure in it.
    (Jeremiah 6:10)

Comments are closed.