How Great Thou Art

O Lord my God, When I in awesome wonder,
Consider all the worlds Thy Hands have made;
I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder,
Thy power throughout the universe displayed.

Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art.
Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art!

When through the woods, and forest glades I wander,
And hear the birds sing sweetly in the trees.
When I look down, from lofty mountain grandeur
And see the brook, and feel the gentle breeze.

Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art.
Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art!

And when I think, that God, His Son not sparing;
Sent Him to die, I scarce can take it in;
That on the Cross, my burden gladly bearing,
He bled and died to take away my sin.

Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art.
Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art!

When Christ shall come, with shout of acclamation,
And take me home, what joy shall fill my heart.
Then I shall bow, in humble adoration,
And then proclaim: “My God, how great Thou art!”

Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art.
Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art!

words & music by Carl G. Boberg and R.J. Hughes

19 thoughts on “How Great Thou Art

  1. What a beautiful song. Who was the original or most well known singer of this song? I have the rendition of Crystal Lewis’ and its beautifully done. But the gentleman who sang this is the voice I hear as I sing this within. Mike, you are being prayed for. I praise God for the songs He gives us when we are in battles against the enemy who wants to get us weary and off-focus of Christ. As all of us fight the good fight of faith may we be careful not to lose our joy in the Lord. Rejoice in the Lord always, always!

  2. Sherry C,

    I don’t know who originally sang it, but I do like it very much, especially the verse that says:

    When Christ shall come, with shout of acclamation,
    And take me home, what joy shall fill my heart.
    Then I shall bow, in humble adoration,
    And then proclaim: “My God, how great Thou art!”

    I long to be with Him.Thank you for your prayers Sherry. I had a deep peace today in not retaliating. I had a comment from someone today that said, “They may indeed destroy you, but who cares, God is glorified as you stand firm and not compromise.”

    That one got my attention and he was right.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  3. OOH! I got the goose bumps! That is the one section of the whole song I sing over and over because it’s all I can remember without the words! It is worthy of being the favorite refrain. I know that when Crystal comes to that song I have to stop in my tracks and drop what I am doing. If I remember right, this song was written while the gentleman pondered God’s glorious work in a thunderstorm.

  4. Yes! I agree completely! You know, we are going to witness this Sherry. How awesome is that? And, we are going to be those who shall bow in humble adoration with joy filling our heart. Wow! Why would we want anything here in this earth???

  5. Mike,
    Another beautiful song. I was going to comment on my favorite verse but you beat me to it. :) Joy I can’t even comprehend!
    I have been listening to music and reading in Proverbs. Proverbs is great, all kinds of wisdom to keep you out of trouble.I need to read it more often. :)

  6. You know, Mike, I have a home that my hubby and I have been trying to fix up. We wanted a fixer upper. Not wise. When I went through the health crisis, we struggled financially. I look at my home and want it to be nice- simple, clean and nice. And we can’t afford it as yet. Today, I nearly cried about it. But, I have received paint and lace material for curtains and various other things free-from God’s very hand! I am thankful. Anyway, today I truly thought that it doesn’t matter! God provides for us in the here and now, but it could all be gone tomorrow. And it is less than nothing when we are Home with Jesus and our Father. And each other. I am glad God’s servant spoke words of comfort and strength to you which gave you peace. God bless him for that. God bless you, too.

  7. Yep, compared to eternity and our position in the Kingdom, simply being with our Saviour forever, this is short and light affliction. No matter how good we have it here, it is better there beyond our comprehension. No matter how bad we have it here, what we will have there will make it as nothing. I so want to be there now.

    Thank you for the encouragement Sherry.

  8. Sherry C,
    I like my fixer upper. It’s fun to fixer up and be creative! It’s more fun than living in brand new houses. I find it very relaxing and I really think it’s much better living within ones means. I was married to a carpenter for almost 22 years so I did learn a few things.:) Your right Sherry, stuff is just stuff. The treasure is Jesus.

  9. Deborah, how precious that you would do that! I must decline,though. Our home was the victim of a previous fixer upper and so our windows are all odd sizes in even the same room! My mother was given lace material-end of the bolt stuff. She almost threw it away. She gave it to me. I kid you not, to the very inch it was exactly the amount I needed! Is God good or what? Yes, I love our home because of how we got it and the price we paid was testimony of the hand of God. But I am more of a gardener. I put gardens in where no grass grows. That’s my method and I am sticking with it! Hubby had to sell the rider mower because of it! I do make what I can, such as curtains and quilts. Our home is perfect for cottage stle. Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! I am thankful for all of you! And thanks for the offer, Deborah! God bless you.

  10. Sherry C,
    Your home sounds charming. I love gardens,also. That is great how that worked out, God is good! God Bless your heart.
    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving everyone and God Bless!

  11. Mike and all,

    That’s my favourite verse too! What a joy it shall be when our Lord shall return. What’s all the treasures of this world compared to that?

    Come Lord Jesus!

  12. Deb and All,

    31 Proverbs and 31 Days in a month. A beautiful way to start the day with the Proverb for the day and a Psalm. After you’ve read Proverbs 31 and Psalm 31, go back and read Proverb 1 and Psalm 32, and after awhile you’ll have read all the Psalms. What a wonderful way to Praise the Lord in Spirit and in Truth. One last, read something out of the New Testement during the day and before bed.

    May the Lord’s Love abound in all more and more. Have a Blessed Thanksgiving.

    David

  13. Amazing Hymn…although my favorite verse is:

    And when I think, that God, His Son not sparing;
    Sent Him to die, I scarce can take it in;
    That on the Cross, my burden gladly bearing,
    He bled and died to take away my sin.

    The Gospel…this is what makes verse 4 possible…If Christ has not been crushed for our sin–giving us a righteous standing before God we would have not hope of Christ’s triumphal return to take us home. “He made Him who knew no sin to become sin on our behalf, in order that we might become the righteousness of God.”

  14. Bruisedreed! Good to hear from you my sister! I pray you are well and will have a great Thanksgiving. Yes, that verse is awesome as well and you are right about the Gospel making it all possible! Again, very good to hear from you!

Comments are closed.