Bought With a Price to be Slaves of Christ

 

by Mike Ratliff

Each one should remain in the condition in which he was called. Were you a slave when called? Do not be concerned about it. But if you can gain your freedom, avail yourself of the opportunity. For he who was called in the Lord as a slave is a freedman of the Lord. Likewise he who was free when called is a slave of Christ. You were bought with a price; do not become slaves of men. So, brothers, in whatever condition each was called, there let him remain with God. (1 Corinthians 7:20-24 ESV)

During the ministries of our Lord Jesus Christ and His Apostles there was a full understanding of the nature of slavery. It dominated their culture. Therefore, we must take that into account when we read from God’s Word the true nature of our “personal relationship” with our Lord. The Greek word for Lord or Master is “κυριε” or “Kurios.” This title describes Jesus Christ as Lord in the sense of being the owner, possessor, or master. Some may teach that Christians can be genuine without them submitting to Christ as Lord, but that concept is alien to the Bible. We do not make Christ Lord of our lives my brethren. No, He is Lord of all those whom He bought with the price of His precious blood.

For Christ to be “Kurios” then He must own slaves. The Greek word for a slave is “δουλος” or “Doulos.” A “doulos” is one who is in a permanent relation of servitude to another, his or her will altogether consumed in the will of their “Kurios.” In nearly every English translation of the New Testament this word, “doulos,” is mostly rendered as either “servant” or “bond-servant.” In the few instances when a passage is referring to actual slaves then it is rendered as “slave” or “slaves.” I believe this is tragic for it gives the reader the wrong concept of our actual “personal relationship” with Christ. If “doulos” was rendered as “slave” in every passage in the New Testament where it appears then a very different understanding of the true nature of our relationship with our “Kurios” would become apparent.  

Here is Ephesians 5:5-6 from the King James, the English Standard, and the NET BIble.

Servants, be obedient to them that are your masters according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in singleness of your heart, as unto Christ; Not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart; (Ephesians 6:5-6 KJV)

Slaves, obey your earthly masters with fear and trembling, with a sincere heart, as you would Christ, not by the way of eye-service, as people-pleasers, but as servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart, (Ephesians 6:5-6 ESV)

Slaves, obey your human masters with fear and trembling, in the sincerity of your heart as to Christ, not like those who do their work only when someone is watching — as people-pleasers — but as slaves of Christ doing the will of God from the heart. (Ephesians 6:5-6 NET)

I pray you noticed that the NET Bible translators rendered “doulos” as “slaves” while the other translations used it only when referring to actual slaves. The English Standard rendered it both ways. Nevertheless, what I wanted you to do is read all three then reread them. Doesn’t the NET version ring more true? All who were bought with the price of Christ’s blood are His “doulos.” Also, think of the definition of “doulos” from above and compare it to Paul’s admonition here. The will of the “doulos” is  altogether consumed in the will of his or her “Kurios.” This is the role of those whom Christ purchased or bought with the price of His precious blood. 

Let’s look at another passage.

For the kingdom of heaven is as a man traveling into a far country, who called his own servants, and delivered unto them his goods. And unto one he gave five talents, to another two, and to another one; to every man according to his several ability; and straightway took his journey. Then he that had received the five talents went and traded with the same, and made them other five talents. And likewise he that had received two, he also gained other two. But he that had received one went and digged in the earth, and hid his lord’s money. After a long time the lord of those servants cometh, and reckoneth with them. And so he that had received five talents came and brought other five talents, saying, Lord, thou deliveredst unto me five talents: behold, I have gained beside them five talents more. His lord said unto him, Well done, thou good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord. He also that had received two talents came and said, Lord, thou deliveredst unto me two talents: behold, I have gained two other talents beside them. His lord said unto him, Well done, good and faithful servant; thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord. Then he which had received the one talent came and said, Lord, I knew thee that thou art a hard man, reaping where thou hast not sown, and gathering where thou hast not strewed: And I was afraid, and went and hid thy talent in the earth: lo, there thou hast that is thine. His lord answered and said unto him, Thou wicked and slothful servant, thou knewest that I reap where I sowed not, and gather where I have not strewed: Thou oughtest therefore to have put my money to the exchangers, and then at my coming I should have received mine own with usury. Take therefore the talent from him, and give it unto him which hath ten talents. For unto everyone that hath shall be given, and he shall have abundance: but from him that hath not shall be taken away even that which he hath. And cast ye the unprofitable servant into outer darkness: there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth. (Matthew 25:14-30 KJV)

“For it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted to them his property. To one he gave five talents, to another two, to another one, to each according to his ability. Then he went away. He who had received the five talents went at once and traded with them, and he made five talents more. So also he who had the two talents made two talents more. But he who had received the one talent went and dug in the ground and hid his master’s money. Now after a long time the master of those servants came and settled accounts with them. And he who had received the five talents came forward, bringing five talents more, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me five talents; here I have made five talents more.’ His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ And he also who had the two talents came forward, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me two talents; here I have made two talents more.’ His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ He also who had received the one talent came forward, saying, ‘Master, I knew you to be a hard man, reaping where you did not sow, and gathering where you scattered no seed, so I was afraid, and I went and hid your talent in the ground. Here you have what is yours.’ But his master answered him, ‘You wicked and slothful servant! You knew that I reap where I have not sowed and gather where I scattered no seed? Then you ought to have invested my money with the bankers, and at my coming I should have received what was my own with interest. So take the talent from him and give it to him who has the ten talents. For to everyone who has will more be given, and he will have an abundance. But from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away. And cast the worthless servant into the outer darkness. In that place there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’ (Matthew 25:14-30 ESV)

“For it is like a man going on a journey, who summoned his slaves and entrusted his property to them. To one he gave five talents, to another two, and to another one, each according to his ability. Then he went on his journey. The one who had received five talents went off right away and put his money to work and gained five more. In the same way, the one who had two gained two more. But the one who had received one talent went out and dug a hole in the ground and hid his master’s money in it. After a long time, the master of those slaves came and settled his accounts with them. The one who had received the five talents came and brought five more, saying, ‘Sir, you entrusted me with five talents. See, I have gained five more.’ His master answered, ‘Well done, good and faithful slave! You have been faithful in a few things. I will put you in charge of many things. Enter into the joy of your master.’ The one with the two talents also came and said, ‘Sir, you entrusted two talents to me. See, I have gained two more.’ His master answered, ‘Well done, good and faithful slave! You have been faithful with a few things. I will put you in charge of many things. Enter into the joy of your master.’ Then the one who had received the one talent came and said, ‘Sir, I knew that you were a hard man, harvesting where you did not sow, and gathering where you did not scatter seed, so I was afraid, and I went and hid your talent in the ground. See, you have what is yours.’ But his master answered, ‘Evil and lazy slave! So you knew that I harvest where I didn’t sow and gather where I didn’t scatter? Then you should have deposited my money with the bankers, and on my return I would have received my money back with interest! Therefore take the talent from him and give it to the one who has ten. For the one who has will be given more, and he will have more than enough. But the one who does not have, even what he has will be taken from him. And throw that worthless slave into the outer darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’ (Matthew 25:14-30 NET)

The Greek word “doulos” should be translated only as “slave.” Did you notice that the NET version got it right again? Remember there is a huge difference between a slave and a servant. A servant is hired and paid for his or her work. He or she can also quit or be fired. However, the “Kurios” owns his “doulos” who are required to have their will consumed by his will. They are to obey Him when they have a direct command and when they don’t then they must do what they know will please Him. The worthless “doulos” in the passage above knew this, but did neither thereby proving that he was not a true “doulos” of his “Kurios.” 

My brethren, are you a “doulos” of our “Kurios,” a slave of our Lord, or are you merely a servant, a hireling?

Soli Deo Gloria!

21 thoughts on “Bought With a Price to be Slaves of Christ

  1. Are we a slave or a hireling? Looks like things are heating up and we’ll find out sooner than later. The Lord knows who are really His. Even if the devil kills us here, and the Bible says he will kill some of us, he does us a favor because then we get to be with our Lord.

  2. Paul and Luann, yep, it is getting close. What we have to do is seek the Lord and depend on His power to hold us as we obey Him no matter what “they” do to us. God’s will be done.

  3. Pingback: Bought With a Price to be Slaves of Christ - Reformata

  4. This is food for thought. Thank you. I really get discouraged when Bible editors don’t use the right word. I wish I knew Greek but am glad you do.

    C.S. Lewis spoke about the things of this fallen world being a perversion of the things of heaven, and I sometimes think slavery fits into that category. It is os abhorrent in men because it belongs only to God. Only He who is all-loving and all-wise and all-knowing can have that kind of power over men.

    I often wonder though about how being a slave to Christ fits in with being adopted as children of God?

  5. Kate,

    You are right. Only God gets it right. Now, al who are in Christ are His slaves, given to Him by the Father. However, we are beloved slaves who are adopted as sons (children) of God. I think I like being a beloved slave whose needs are always met by my wonderful, generous, and omnipotent Master. This wonderful Master always does what is best for me. I may not like it at the time, but from an eternal perspective, it is always right. Does this make sense?

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  6. I think slaves that have freedom ‘in Christ’ is highlighted in the verse of Romans 3:21. IF we remain in Romans 3:19 (as law driven people) we are not experiencing that freedom. Romans 3:21 is one of those mountan top experiences if we understand it deeply enough, IMO.

    Romans 3

    19Now we know that whatever the law says, it says to those who are under the law, so that every mouth may be silenced and the whole world held accountable to God. 20Therefore no one will be declared righteous in his sight by observing the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of sin.

    Righteousness Through Faith
    21But now a righteousness from God, apart from law, has been made known, to which the Law and the Prophets testify. 22This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe. There is no difference, 23for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,

    JS

  7. Jon,

    That is part of it to be sure, however, it only explains the basis of our ability to walk righteously. The slaves of Christ who “do well” are those who obey Him, whose will is totally consumed in His will, who live to please Him regardless of the pressure to compromise that we all have to endure day after day here in this present darkness. The righteousness that is ours after salvation is that which is imputed to us in our justification. That is not an attribute we now possess in our character. Instead, we are regenerated and now have faith, a living faith. From this point on we walk before the face of God in our sanctification which is the process of God conforming us unto the image of Christ. It can be quite painful. Only those who walk in the reality of their slavery to Christ are able to take great strides in this. Those who see themselves as servants or bond-servants instead of slaves are not ever going to be able to do this because they are still viewing this whole thing from eyes trained on themselves.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  8. Mike,

    I don’t disagree at all but in the parable of the prodigal son we live in a world that wants to focus on the issues of the younger brother and not the issues of the ‘more obedient’ ‘older” brother.

    We tend to flee Jesus by either being terribly good or being terribly bad. And I think we tend to rationalize it it by saying some verses are only for ‘unsaved’, unjustified people.

    Thats the point maybe I am always trying to make.

  9. “…still viewing this whole thing from eyes trained on themselves.”

    What a good way to tell which kind we really are!!

    Thanks, Mike.

  10. Jon,

    My point is that we must mature beyond all of that and be conformed to be slaves of our Lord. The servant mind-set is all self-focused and does those very things. The slave mind-set is not self-focused because its will is consumed in our Lord’s will. It obeys Him regardless of the pressure to be self-focused. It seeks to please Him at all times. Do you see the difference now?

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  11. Amen, I agree.
    We are Servants of Christ, doing His Service.
    We were bought at a price and that is His Blood.
    Since He paid the price for us, we are servants of Christ.
    God bless you and to Jesus be the glory always.

  12. Mike,

    That is an interesting and thought-provoking post. Another parable sprang immediately to mind, though, and I was wondering how you would fit this into context with what you are saying. It is the parable of the laborers and the vineyard, which seems to suggest servants rather than slaves, and specifically mentions payment.

    Mat 20:1 “For the kingdom of heaven is like a landowner who went out early in the morning to hire laborers for his vineyard.
    Mat 20:2 “When he had agreed with the laborers for a denarius for the day, he sent them into his vineyard.
    Mat 20:3 “And he went out about the third hour and saw others standing idle in the market place;
    Mat 20:4 and to those he said, ‘You also go into the vineyard, and whatever is right I will give you.’ And so they went.
    Mat 20:5 “Again he went out about the sixth and the ninth hour, and did the same thing.
    Mat 20:6 “And about the eleventh hour he went out and found others standing around; and he *said to them, ‘Why have you been standing here idle all day long?’
    Mat 20:7 “They *said to him, ‘Because no one hired us.’ He *said to them, ‘You go into the vineyard too.’
    Mat 20:8 “When evening came, the owner of the vineyard *said to his foreman, ‘Call the laborers and pay them their wages, beginning with the last group to the first.’
    Mat 20:9 “When those hired about the eleventh hour came, each one received a denarius.
    Mat 20:10 “When those hired first came, they thought that they would receive more; but each of them also received a denarius.
    Mat 20:11 “When they received it, they grumbled at the landowner,
    Mat 20:12 saying, ‘These last men have worked only one hour, and you have made them equal to us who have borne the burden and the scorching heat of the day.’
    Mat 20:13 “But he answered and said to one of them, ‘Friend, I am doing you no wrong; did you not agree with me for a denarius?
    Mat 20:14 ‘Take what is yours and go, but I wish to give to this last man the same as to you.
    Mat 20:15 ‘Is it not lawful for me to do what I wish with what is my own? Or is your eye envious because I am generous?’
    Mat 20:16 “So the last shall be first, and the first last.”

    I look forward to your thoughts.

    Peace & Blessings,
    Simple Mann

  13. simplemann,

    That is a parable that our Lord used to teach the Jews that the gentiles, whom they despised, would be more welcome in the Kingdom than they. He also used it to show God’s sovereignty in how He deals with people in His Kingdom. The fact that these fellows are hired in no way teaches that God’s people are hirelings. As His slaves we will receive rewards, or not, based upon our obedience. That is not a wage.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

  14. Mike,

    Thank you for taking the time to respond. I already agreed with your original statement, but I appreciate the additional insight. I have usually interpreted that parable to mean the time of conversion in a man’s life rather than the Jew and the Gentile, but that makes sense, too. The way I normally interpret that parable is that some people may be converted at an early age, some in their young adult years, and some toward the end of their life. If God has elected to save them, He can do so at any time, and the ones He elected from an early age have no greater claim to that salvation than the ones who God converted near the end of their life.

    Regarding the content in your original post, I have held (ever since my conversion) that I am a *slave* to Christ–a term and condition that does not bother me in the least. He certainly does not *owe* me anything. In fact, if I was to collect what I was owed, I would not like it very much. I was once a slave to sin and was fast on my way to Hell. Now I am a slave to Christ, and am happy to call Him Master! I thank the Lord He has settled my account and not required payment–I will never ask of Him (like He owes me anything but righteous judgment but has instead clothed me in His righteousness). I think I responded to another post here one time that had to do with the Lordship of Christ. I think we are in agreement here as well, that if Jesus is not your Lord AND Savior, then your hope for salvation is in vain.

    Thanks again for responding.

    Peace & Blessings,
    Simple Mann

Comments are closed.