Christians’ Security In Christ

by Mike Ratliff

22 For I was ashamed to ask the king for a band of soldiers and horsemen to protect us against the enemy on our way, since we had told the king, “The hand of our God is for good on all who seek him, and the power of his wrath is against all who forsake him.” (Ezra 8:22 ESV)

Perhaps my case is unique, but I doubt it. The closer I get to being a slave for Christ, a living sacrifice, the more the things around me that make up my “comfort zones” become either obliterated, gone, or broken, or my sensory system which used to somehow find comfort in their make up loses the ability to do so. That could be the work of the anti-seizure meds I suppose, but I believe it is God’s hand in removing the idols from my heart; making me utterly dependent upon Him and Him alone for everything. In the past as I prepared to wrap my mind around God’s Word to write these posts I used to have little rituals of preparation that brought me much joy that no longer do that, but, instead, the very thought of them delivers a certain level of anxiety to my heart that is only assuaged as I prayerfully dig into the Word. It is as if there is a “Danger – Do Not Enter” sign over them. I have noticed that the tone of my writing has changed considerably as well as I have heeded that. 

Either God is sovereign or He is not. If He is, and I believe He is, then I believe He also keeps He promises and protects those who are His. If we really believe this then it should be reflected in how we live and walk in this life when it comes to being known as Christians.

28 And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28 ESV)

Paul tells us in this passage that all in Christ have been called according to His purpose and because of that, our circumstances will work together for good. In other words, we should not walk in fear of the things in this life. What freedom this is! Neither should we fear what evil things those who are attacking the Church and Kingdom of God are doing. God is still in control regardless of what they do.

29 For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. 30 And those whom he predestined he also called, and those whom he called he also justified, and those whom he justified he also glorified. (Romans 8:29-30 ESV)

God has our salvation completely planned out. There is no need to despair or be concerned about any of it if we are in Christ. I know some who believe they can sin and lose their salvation. They are in unbelief and what bondage that is! God did not intend for us to live that way. Look at these two verses. If we are in Christ, we are justified and our glorification awaits all because of His predestination of us.

31 What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? (Romans 8:31 ESV)

Think about it. God is sovereign. I know there are some today who would actually have to think about this question, but the one who truly knows God. We have no adversary who can touch us without coming through God first.

32 He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things? (Romans 8:32 ESV)

Christians are completely forgiven. God meets all their needs both physically and spiritually. He may not make us all rich in the world’s goods. He may not make us all super healthy in body. He may allow us to suffer diseases to keep us humble and usable as clay pots. However, our sins are forgiven and we have all we need in this life to both live and serve Him.

33 Who shall bring any charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies. 34 Who is to condemn? Christ Jesus is the one who died–more than that, who was raised–who is at the right hand of God, who indeed is interceding for us. (Romans 8:33,34 ESV)

The setting for vv33-34 is the divine courtroom. Those on trial are God’s elect. These are described in vv29-30 above. God has justified them so who can successfully accuse someone whom He has declared righteous? That is rhetorical, because the answer is obvious. There are four reasons the believer can never be found guilty. What are they? The first one is Christ’s death. The second one is His Resurrection. The third one is His exalted position. The fourth one is His continual intercession for them.

35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword? 36 As it is written, “For your sake we are being killed all the day long; we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.” 37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:35-39 ESV)

This list of experiences and persons that cannot separate Christians from God’s love in Christ was not just theory to Paul. He had hands-on knowledge. The love of Christ in v35 is His love for us demonstrated in our salvation. The tribulation and distress is probably common to most people in this life. However, the persecution is that suffering inflicted on us by others because of our relationship with Christ (Matthew 5:10-12). In any case, Paul quoted Psalm 44:22 from the Septuagint in v36 and in v37 used a Greek word that describes Christians conquering completely without any real threat to personal life or health. The angels mentioned in v38 are fallen angles or demons. The powers are referring to persons in positions of authority.

My brethren, our standing with God is secure. We may be clay in His hands right now, but when our sanctification is done, we will enter into His presence as completed vessels and I tell Him every day that I so want that day to be soon.

Soli Deo Gloria!

19 thoughts on “Christians’ Security In Christ

  1. Things are changing for me too Mike. Much of what I used to hold dear no longer holds interest. I find myself looking at some of ‘my’ books and asking “who can I give some of these to who would benefit from them?” and then giving them away. Same with teaching tapes & videos (shows how old I am huh?) I don’t want nor need the latest or greatest of anything … I can make do with what I have and use the money saved to benefit someone or something else.
    I see it as our Lord allowing us to eliminate all that isn’t necessary so that we can make more time for what is … Him … His Word … fellowship with other believers (even via the Internet like this!), etc.
    It could be medications causing the changes in us (I take med’s also) but I rather believe it’s our Father … showing us the idols that we’ve had and mercifully allowing us to rid ourselves of them. With His help of course.
    Keep writing .. we’re reading!
    I am praying for you and will continue to do so. I look forward to meeting you in heaven one day. How much we have to look forward to!
    Blessings!!

  2. Is it just me, or are so many of the Lord’s Saints going through extra-tough times right now, in ways that they have not encountered before?
    Is the Evil One stepping up his attacks, and is the Almighty God allowing it for His own Purposes?

  3. Amen, Mike!

    I’m young in the faith, saved from a years-long false profession in 2004. Beginning in mid 2007, the Lord began that work in me that is difficult to describe, but that you well know as that which He began working in you in 2004.

    Likely, it was not literally ‘begun’ in mid 2007, but the tempo of the renewing of my mind and the sanctification of my heart unto Christ vastly and dramatically increased at this time, in such a way as to be impossible to ignore or miss (and as you, by no means have I ‘attained’).

    One thing that was often (and perhaps, even now occassionally) disturbing and very humbling to me was the constant increase of awareness of my total sinful shortfall of Christ’s glory by the Holy Spirit Who, seemingly almost ruthlessly, graciously granted me repentence. I mean convicting mightily on my sins of commission of a day, and even more so on my sins of omission in a day. So much so, that many was the time (and again, still occasionally) that I would desperately reread the scriptures for testing one’s self, to see if one be in the faith.

    And I would wonder why the Christ Who says, “Come unto Me, all you who are weary and heavy laden,” and “Buy from Me without price,” would by God the Holy Spirit, so grind me down to nothing in humiliation and repentence, day after day. Was I not saved? Did I merely have a head-knowledge of true doctrine, but the Truth was not alive in me in power? Was I not truly called, but merely an enemy of God, doomed to know something of the truth of my dead estate but destined to remain in it? Was this that wonderful peace that passes understanding for those drawn by the Father to find rest in Christ Jesus?

    And yet, God was ever graciously steadfast in love and faihfulness to me, and here is how this relates to security in Christ:

    These things were not meant to drive me into unbelief in the only Savior, but to drive me from ever placing an iota of trust in my own works, my own strivings, my own ‘growth’ in the faith, etc. The Spirit of God was patiently teaching me (because I am stiffnecked and hard-headed) that there is NO SECURITY outside of the risen Christ. And also that in Him, is ABSOLUTE SECURITY! My salvation did not begin with, nor will it be completed by: my obedience, my progress, my anything. It is all sovereign grace and it is all Jesus Christ.

    Because Christ is my Mediator, my High Priest, my Master, my Kinsman Redeemer, my Brother, my Shepherd, my King, my Lord, and my God, seated at the right hand of God the Father, Who loves His Only Begotten as the darling apple of His eye, from in His own bossom, in Whom He is always well-pleased, Who is pleased to set His Son’s Name above every name forever, I can have no surer, no more reduntantly attested and vouchsafed security before God forever, than the Person and merit of the Lord Jesus Christ.

    Now, being an unworthy wretch saved by the King of Glory, I still need to be reminded of this blessed truth because I can still stumble in the sin of unbelief, or of foolishly looking to anything in myself at all. What a blessed Comforter we have, Who, in great long-suffering and gracious love, ever turns our hearts and our minds to our only Security, Christ Jesus, the Savior of His people.

    Blessed be the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, and may His surpassing peace, wrought in Him alone Who is our Peace with God, encourage you and your readers, my brothers and sisters.

  4. To all the Saints, He who started a good work in us will take it to completion, in His day and not our own. Hold onto the things that are truly dear to you, which I hope and pray it is God’s Word. For our battles are not against flesh and blood, but the spirits and principalities that drive these people who are in unbelief. Remember to take courage and stand upon the rock that you have been placed upon, for only the Lord Jesus Christ can sustain us in this wicked world we live in.
    In Christ,
    David

  5. I, too, am experiencing a depth of sanctification that is unparalleled in my over 30 years as a Christian. I see it happening in believers around me. I attribute it in part to Ephesians 5: 27: That He might present to Himself the church in all her glory, having no spot or wrinkle or any such thing; but that she would be holy and blameless.” Thanks for the post, Mike

  6. Thank you for this.
    “He Who began a good work, will be faithful to complete it…” Sweet and precious promises.

    I do believe the persecution and attack on the saints right now is an all out effort on Satan’s part to try and destroy us. We know that God’s true children will not be destroyed, but sometimes it feels like you are surely being defeated. But, Jesus Christ is the Victor and through HIS faith I will “come forth as gold”.
    Just another sign of the time!
    Jesus is coming soon, lift up your heads, redemption draweth nigh!!!
    Glory to His name.

  7. “There are four reasons the believer can never be found guilty. What are they? The first one is Christ’s death. The second one is His Resurrection. The third one is His exalted position. The fourth one is His continual intercession for them.”

    AMEN!! And GLORY!!! Praise the Lord Jesus Christ, I do not have to endure his judgement. What a precious promise.

    What a day of sactification we are living in. I do believe the Lord is preparing his people. I too have experienced near despair in examinging and quesioning myself about sin, the state of my soul. I do beleive it is to forge utter dependance on the Lord Jesus Christ for all facets of our salvation, sanctification, and day by day holiness, after all Paul said” out of my flesh comes no good thing”, and Jesus himself said, “without me you can do NOTHING”….we are so proud, ( a little taught on, or confessd sin)
    and even culturally engrained with the idea of self-sufficiency and independance ( I can do anything I want)…yet God wants us humble, holy and totally dependant………. ON HIM!!
    Keep Looking up, stay awake, if the Lord is doing this work in you, it can’t be too many more days!!!

  8. “Christians are completely forgiven. God meets all their needs both physically and spiritually. He may not make us all rich in the world’s goods. He may not make us all super healthy in body. He may allow us to suffer diseases to keep us humble and usable as clay pots. However, our sins are forgiven and we have all we need in this life to both live and serve Him.”

    Amen. Good word, Mike.

  9. Loving Romans 5:1…having been justified we have peace with God. Amen and thank you Lord.
    We are at peace with Him and will be forever.
    Perhaps He is teaching us to love Him more than life itself.
    BTW–my lunch went well and got to talk with her for 2 hours about everything I wanted.
    Bless you, Mike.

Comments are closed.