The Sovereignty of God in the Suffering of His People Part 14 – My God, My God why have You Forsaken me?


by Mike Ratliff

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, from the words of my groaning? O my God, I cry by day, but you do not answer, and by night, but I find no rest. (Psalm 22:1-2)

When we are in the fires of tribulation, time seems to stop. The agony seems endless. We want the pain to end. We want God to step in and either end it all and take us home or stop the pain and restore us to a condition that we prefer. This is how we are if we are self-absorbed. When we are self-focused or self-absorbed we see all things temporally with us in the center. This is the way we are when we are Soul-led. Our minds, wills and emotions are in control. Our Souls are predominate over our Spirits. God seems a million miles away. Joy is gone. Continue reading