Stand Firm as the Day of The Lord Approacheth


by Mike Ratliff

So then, brothers, stand firm and hold to the traditions that you were taught by us, either by our spoken word or by our letter. (2 Thessalonians 2:15 ESV)

Last evening I watched the movie “The Nativity” instead of writing. I needed the break I suppose. I was somewhat tired and felt quite beaten down. However, as I watched the story of the advent of my Saviour as a helpless baby into this fallen, evil, and cruel world, I pondered the grace, the incredible love our Lord has for His people that He would become the atoning sacrifice to save them from their sins. This encouraged me as I put into perspective that temporal focus of most professing Christians this time of year as opposed to the call for each of us to deny ourselves, take up our crosses and follow our Lord. At the urging of a dear sister in Christ, I also listened to a sermon by Paul Washer. This more than confirmed what I had learned as I listened to the Holy Spirit during the movie.  Continue reading