Partakers of the Divine Nature


by Mike Ratliff

[3:1] See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are. The reason why the world does not know us is that it did not know him. [2] Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is. [3] And everyone who thus hopes in him purifies himself as he is pure. (1 John 3:1-3 ESV) 

The way things worked out today (Sunday, November 26th, 2011) I found myself visiting another church this morning other than my own. This one is somewhat larger than the one I usually attend and is quite a bit closer to where I live, but we drive the extra distance because it most definitely “worth it.” On the other hand, there were certainly our Brethren in the Lord at the Church we visited today and even though I missed being with the local body of believers a few miles away at our church, we were with God’s people. What was I sensing? What was that “thing” that enabled us to fellowship together even though we were not known among them nor did we know anyone except those who invited us. It is that we are all partakers of the same divine nature. Continue reading