A Christian response to fear mongering

by Mike Ratliff

Today I was reading a friend’s post on Facebook in which he had linked to an article by FOX News in which a military expert on one of their news shows had responded to a threat by ISIS to call all home grown terrorists in the United States to “attack the families of American military with extreme slaughter.” The expert said that if this happens the response would be that we would make an end of ISIS. I pondered what that would mean and then another person I did not know jumped in and commented, “ISIS is the rod of God and could not be made and end of…” He then said that God hated America and ISIS would soon make and end of it. I responded that he was “fear mongering.” He said that I was in denial. I told him that ISIS said all that stuff and showed those videos simply to make people afraid so they could get nations to react the way they wanted. He then posted a video of beheadings and said that was coming here. I told him that I was not afraid of ISIS and that I was afraid of no man. He said I was a typical hypocritical American Christian. I’m not sure what he meant by that. I told him that I feared no man, but I did fear God. He repeated that I did not fear God and proved it by not being afraid of ISIS. Not sure how he came up with that one either. I again told him that I feared God and only him and if he thought I was a hypocrite then go visit my blog, check out what was there, then get back to me. I gave him this site’s url and that was that. I didn’t hear back from him.

As I mediated on this event which took less than 10 minutes this morning I wondered about my brethren, my brothers and sisters in Christ and how they are dealing with this deliberate fear mongering that is descending upon us like a massive tidal wave from every direction, daily, all day long. Not only are we dealing with a world that seems totally in the control of evil men, our own government is in the hands of people bent on doing everything possible to accommodate them. This does not make me fearful. This makes me angry as a patriotic American. However, as a Christian, my primary response to all this is as Christ would have me to do so.

I recently went through a Spiritual Gift evaluation at Church. I evaluated myself and two other people evaluated me and then my “score” was a combination of those three. One of my top three gifts is Faith. I have extraordinary faith. What that means is, for instance, when I encounter false teachers who try to say it’s better to doubt God and His truth then it is to be sure and solid in your Faith another of my Spiritual Gifts kicks in, which is Prophecy. I speak out, I tell the truth. Not my truth, God’s truth from His Word and I have no doubts about believing God. These are gifts from God, not something people develop or whatever. I believe God and he has gifted me with other gifts so that I can help other believers understand His truths and believe Him as well.

So, what has this to do with encountering Satan’s seed who was ‘fear mongering’ today trying to cause all of us to become ensnared by the Spirit of Fear? You do know don’t you that God doesn’t operate like that right? God does not cause His children to fear like that. He may cause our enemies to fear like that, but not us. No, when you encounter someone trying to make you afraid because of all the evil running rampant in the world right now understand that that person is not a messenger from God. Yes, this country may very well come under judgment from God, but does that mean that those of us who are in Christ will ever be separated from the Love of God? I want share two passages with you before closing.

1 Praise the Lord!
How blessed is the man who fears the Lord,
Who greatly delights in His commandments.
2 His descendants will be mighty on earth;
The generation of the upright will be blessed.
3 Wealth and riches are in his house,
And his righteousness endures forever.
4 Light arises in the darkness for the upright;
He is gracious and compassionate and righteous.
5 It is well with the man who is gracious and lends;
He will maintain his cause in judgment.
6 For he will never be shaken;
The righteous will be remembered forever.
7 He will not fear evil tidings;
His heart is steadfast, trusting in the Lord.
8 His heart is upheld, he will not fear,
Until he looks with satisfaction on his adversaries.
9 He has given freely to the poor,
His righteousness endures forever;
His horn will be exalted in honor.
10 The wicked will see it and be vexed,
He will gnash his teeth and melt away;
The desire of the wicked will perish. (Psalms 112:1-10 NASB)

28 And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. 29 For those whom He foreknew, He also predestined to become conformed to the image of His Son, so that He would be the firstborn among many brethren; 30 and these whom He predestined, He also called; and these whom He called, He also justified; and these whom He justified, He also glorified.
31 What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who is against us? 32 He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him over for us all, how will He not also with Him freely give us all things? 33 Who will bring a charge against God’s elect? God is the one who justifies; 34 who is the one who condemns? Christ Jesus is He who died, yes, rather who was raised, who is at the right hand of God, who also intercedes for us. 35 Who will separate us from the love of Christ? Will tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? 36 Just as it is written,
“ For Your sake we are being put to death all day long;
WE were considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”
37 But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:28-39 NASB)

Soli Deo Gloria!

9 thoughts on “A Christian response to fear mongering

  1. Thanks Mike! I’ve been having some tough discussions with fellow believers who really are afraid and think it strange that I am not. This doesn’t mean I’m not concerned about evil in the world, but that I don’t want to be manipulated to worry about matters that are in the Lord’s Hands. It also doesn’t mean I don’t speak out against wickedness or try to resist, just that I would rather trust in the Lord than spend my time engulfed in fear.

    Like

  2. Angela, you have that spiritual gift of “Faith.” Of course, all spiritual gifts are given to us to be used for the health and well-being of the Body of Christ. So, let us continue to grow in grace, mature in Christ and comfort those who doubt, using the Word of God by the power of the Holy Spirit to prepare them to wait upon the Lord. This does not mean horrible things will not happen, but we are in the hands of our Lord and there is no better place to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged on EZC. Mike, what a timely post. It does seem as though so many are fear mongering and we who are in Christ are not given a spirit of fear! Our trust in the LORD will be strengthened and, I pray daily to be more equipped to encourage others. What a blessing to know Whom holds our future and to rest in the knowledge we are in His Mighty Hand.

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on The love of God and commented:
    I’m a believer in the saying: “Know your enemy”. I’ve read an awful lot of blog sites and news sites. Many of them, I had to turn away from as the fearmongering encountered was not of God. Constantly reading about calling out sinners, I found to be ‘not on’, as it can become a terrible snare.

    Anyone who believes in calling others out for sin, yet not watching for their own is something Christ warned about heavily. “Why do you look for the speck that is in your brother’s eye, yet do not see the log in your own eye? You hypocrite!

    He says more on that, too, telling us to get the log out of our own eye first before calling out another. We need to learn what this means, folks. Find, read; study and apply!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Fear in America – Who will You Believe: the Media or the Word of God? | End Times Prophecy Report

Comments are closed.