From where does saving faith come?

by Mike Ratliff

8 For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; 9 not as a result of works, so that no one may boast. (Ephesians 2:8-9 NASB)

In my last post, The deceitfulness of human reason, we looked at how those who are in Christ are works of God, not works of human reason or works of men of any kind or sort. My focus of that post was primarily on the Sovereignty of God and the futility of those who are simply religious and who attempt to reason away the good doctrines of God because they are offended by them. Why did I do that? I have been experiencing this a great deal lately from many quarters. I learned a long time ago to pay attention when something like that happens continually over a short period of time. It is time for me to focus, again, in this ministry on the root of the problem behind that so I wrote that post. After I wrote it I was contacted by a certain person who has been doing so in a shadowy way over the last several weeks, but I have not posted any of his/her comments nor have I taken the bait to get into another fruitless “debate” on this subject, which has been completely settled.

What is the subject? The subject is whether God is the author of our saving faith or not. Our doctrine, based upon the clear teaching of the Word of God, says yes He is. Arminians and the person in question disagrees. The people I have been in discussion with online also disagrees. It get’s quite old and tiring to go over these things over and over again as if we have never done so before.

In 2013 I did indeed address this topic completely in three separate posts. Two of the posts were simply links to audio clips. Below are the links to those clips.

Here is a link to the third post-> Faith is a Gift from God – Part 3

To “Pat” who is insistent that faith is not part of the gift in Ephesians 2:8-9, as you can see, we have nothing to discuss. God’s Word settles it. Your attempt to interject a faulty form of Greek grammar understanding and human philosophy simply adds up to a form of eisegesis. I have fought this battle many, many times and your attempt to drag me into another one using the same old arguments is a total waste of time. Your comments are not going to be posted. Your emails to try to get me to “debate” are not going to be answered. Been there, done that. All the points you are trying to make have been answered above and have been undone.

Soli Deo Gloria!

3 thoughts on “From where does saving faith come?

  1. Quite honestly, if faith isn’t a gift, God help that person if they ever encounter a trial. You can’t work it up if you’re hurting badly, and you’ll fall away very quickly. May the Lord be merciful, and grant repentance.

    Like

Comments are closed.