Truely abiding in Christ

by Mike Ratliff

1 My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. And if anyone sins, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous; 2 and He Himself is the propitiation for our sins; and not for ours only, but also for those of the whole world.
3 By this we know that we have come to know Him, if we keep His commandments. 4 The one who says, “I have come to know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him; 5 but whoever keeps His word, in him the love of God has truly been perfected. By this we know that we are in Him: 6 the one who says he abides in Him ought himself to walk in the same manner as He walked. 1 John 2:1-6 (NASB) 

The total lack of discernment in the mainstream of the visible church right now is truly amazing. As I have stated many times, I never thought I would see the day come when we would have to actually explain the gospel to Christians. Biblical ignorance is rampant. People are so afraid of offending anyone that no one will take a stand on anything so there are no clear borders any more on what is right and what is wrong. The truth is whatever people want it to be hence everything is relative. That may be what people want to believe, but in fact it is only a tragic fantasy. God’s truth is still absolute and His judgment is coming. In the meantime, what are we to do? We are to obey our Lord and that means abide in Him, obeying Him and keeping His commandments as per 1 John 2:1-6 (above).

Here is vv4,5 from the NASB: The one who says, “I have come to know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him; 5 but whoever keeps His word, in him the love of God has truly been perfected. By this we know that we are in Him:

Here is vv4,5 from the NA28 Greek text: 4 ὁ λέγων ὅτι ἔγνωκα αὐτὸν καὶ τὰς ἐντολὰς αὐτοῦ μὴ τηρῶν, ψεύστης ἐστὶν καὶ ἐν τούτῳ ἡ ἀλήθεια οὐκ ἔστιν· 5 ὃς δʼ ἂν τηρῇ αὐτοῦ τὸν λόγον, ἀληθῶς ἐν τούτῳ ἡ ἀγάπη τοῦ θεοῦ τετελείωται, ἐν τούτῳ γινώσκομεν ὅτι ἐν αὐτῷ ἐσμεν.

Here is vv4,5 word from word from Greek to English: 4 The one saying, “I have known him” and the commands of him not keeping, is a liar and in this one the truth is not; 5 but whoever keeps his word, truly in this one the love of the God has been completed, in this we know that we are in him.

The words translated as ‘does not keep’ in the NASB are μη τηρων and are structured as negated present active participle. In other words, the person who continually lives in rebellion to the Lord’s commandments is a liar if he or she claims to be His disciple. Of course, the opposite is true as well. The true believer proves he or she is a real Christian. How? He or she keeps the Lord’s Word and in them, the love of God is perfected. Let us take a closer look at this.

1 “I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser. 2 Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit, He takes away; and every branch that bears fruit, He prunes it so that it may bear more fruit. 3 You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken to you. 4 Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself unless it abides in the vine, so neither can you unless you abide in Me. 5 I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing. 6 If anyone does not abide in Me, he is thrown away as a branch and dries up; and they gather them, and cast them into the fire and they are burned. 7 If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. 8 My Father is glorified by this, that you bear much fruit, and so prove to be My disciples. 9 Just as the Father has loved Me, I have also loved you; abide in My love. 10 If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love; just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love. 11 These things I have spoken to you so that My joy may be in you, and that your joy may be made full. John 15:1-11 (NASB) 

The word translated in v4 as abide is the Greek word μεινατε, which refers to continuing or remaining. Our Lord is telling his disciples that genuine Christians remain in Him and this proves their authenticity. They not only remain in Him, but they also bear much fruit. In fact, disingenuous disciples can look genuine to the multitude and fool many, but they do not fool the Lord. They may do many things intellectually in the name of Jesus. They may do many things in the flesh in the name of Jesus. They may debate in the name of Jesus. They may do all sorts of religious things in the name of Jesus, if all we do is the best we can do then all it will amount to is nothing at all in the Kingdom of God. Our Lord is very clear here. He says, “for apart from me you can do nothing.” This tells us that the only works that cause us to bear fruit that is Kingdom fruit are works done by the grace of God according to the will of God as we abide in Christ. The works that we do that count in the Kingdom of God are Christ’s works done through us.

It doesn’t matter how many cool books we write or how emotional we can be in videos trying to get people to follow a different Jesus than the one clearly given to us in Sacred Scripture. Weeping as we try to convince people we are genuine does not make us genuine. Are you listening? Several years ago I watched a video of Leonard Sweet explaining why he wrote Jesus Manifesto. He started weeping in the video as he explained how he was positive that Jesus was missing in most Churches as they focused mostly on Scripture. He even quoted John MacArthur, who he disagreed with in this, saying that we would spend time in heaven learning more Scripture. Leonard wants you to stop spending time in your Bible trying to find Jesus. Instead, he wants you to find him by serving the poor, et cetera. That is the essence of the Emergent message he is selling and calling orthodox.

I find it disturbing when I go to a church or listen to a Christian leader who gives a teaching or counsels someone and they push their people to follow a man or a book instead of pointing them to the Word of God. However, that is exactly what is rampant in the visble church in our time. Look back at the passages I placed in this post. That is where the truth is. I have tried to explain it, but the truth is in those words. Jesus opened up the minds of His disciples to understand the Word of God so that they would know Him and His mission and what the purpose of the Church was. The Word of God is central to all of that and that has not changed. Therefore, when a man comes along and wants to point the Body of Christ away from it to some sort of activity in place of studying it and living in it, then we had better take notice and turn from him in a hurry.

Soli Deo Gloria!

6 thoughts on “Truely abiding in Christ

  1. IF RELIGIOUS LEADERS DO NOT UNDERSTAND SALVATION REQUIREMENTS…….? BY STEVE FINNELL

    If religious leaders do not understand God’s requirements for salvation, then why would anyone think that they would not teach false doctrines?

    Example: Joyce Meyer
    Joyce Meyer Ministries
    August 4, 2014 ·
    Prayer for salvation: If you need Jesus and want a personal relationship with Him, pray this very simple prayer out loud: “Father God, I love you. I believe in you. I need you. I’m sorry for my sins. Sorry about the way I’ve lived. Sorry for shutting You out. I want You in my life. I surrender. I yield. I receive Jesus as my Savior and my Lord. I believe He died for me. He rose from the dead. He’s alive today. Come into me. Take me just the way I am. Now make me everything You want me to be. I believe I’m saved. I’m on my way to heaven, and I’m going to enjoy the trip. Amen.”

    The Joyce Meyer plan of salvation is not God’s plan of salvation.

    God’s plan of salvation: Faith—John 3:16, Galatians 3:26—Confession—Romans 10:9-10, Acts 8:34-38—Repentance—Acts 2:38, Acts 3:19, –Water Immersion— Acts 2:38, Mark 16:16, Acts 22:16, Galatians 3:27, Ephesians 5:24-27, Colossians 2:8-13, Romans 6:3-7, 1 Peter 3:20-21,

    Joyce Meyer Quote
    “During that time He entered hell, where you and I deserved to go (legally) because of our sin. He paid the price there … no plan was too extreme … Jesus paid on the cross and in hell”

    Joyce Meyer believes Jesus dying on the cross was not sufficient for man’s atonement. She believes Jesus went to hell for three days to be punished for the sins on mankind. [NOTE: For more information, google search, Joyce Meyer false teacher.]

    Jesus paid the price for our sins on the cross. He was not punished three days in hell for the sins of mankind.

    1 Peter 2:21-24…..24 who Himself bore our sins in His own body on the tree, that we, having died to sin, might live for righteousness–by whose stripes you were healed. (NKJV)

    It should not surprise anyone that a person who teaches an erroneous doctrine of salvation would teach other doctrines that are false.

    Is it a result of wisdom to look for spiritual guidance from those who do not teach God’s terms of salvation?

    Which is the most egregious false doctrine?

    1. Saying, Jesus had to be punished in hell three days so the sins of mankind could be forgiven.

    2. Saying, faith in Jesus is not essential for salvation.

    3. Saying, confessing Jesus as Lord and Christ is not essential for salvation.

    4. Saying, repentance is not essential for salvation.

    5 Saying, water baptism is not essential for salvation.

    Where do you look for God’s truth? If it is not the Bible, then you are looking in all the wrong places.

    Arrogance and pride stand in the way of God’s truth.

    YOU ARE INVITED TO FOLLOW MY BLOG>> steve-finnell.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Second to last paragraph – methinks you mean “many cool books.”

    Sadly, my brother, too few Christians understand or have interest in the Bible. They like it but they like what they think about it and it’s Author without studying to show themselves approved by the Author..

    Like

Comments are closed.