The Internet Front of the Truth War is an Ugly Place

by Mike Ratliff

You are of your father the devil, and your will is to do your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, and has nothing to do with the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks out of his own character, for he is a liar and the father of lies. But because I tell the truth, you do not believe me. (John 8:44-45 ESV)

deceive: to be false; implies imposing a false idea or belief that causes ignorance, bewilderment, or helplessness

mislead: implies a leading astray that may or may not be intentional

delude: implies deceiving so thoroughly as to obscure the truth

No one but God is perfect. We all make mistakes. We all sin. Likewise, none of us, of ourselves, can stand the full judging light into our thoughts, actions, and motives. However, God is none of these things. His Word is perfect. Those in Christ are regenerate and have the Holy Spirit. Even with this, they are not perfect and still sin and make mistakes. However, it is vital for us understand this, God has given His truth to man and He has raised up some to stand in the gap before what is false.

On March 3, 2009 Chris Lyons posted an article on the CRN.info based on Christ’s letter to the church in Philadelphia from Revelation 3:7-13. The part of the article dealing with a statement by our Lord in which He mentioned the “Synagogue of Satan” was used by Chris to accuse those who are associated with CRN as being the 21st Century embodiment of it. That began several rebuttles by many of us. I responded with A Letter to the Church in Philadelphia on March 4th and What is the Synagogue of Satan on March 5th. The emails and comments were a bit heated pertaining to the second post. After that I thought things were calming down again so over the weekend I posted a couple of articles on Biblical Authority: The Divine Foundation of Authority and Unquestionable Authority both based on articles from the March issue of Tabletalk magazine. 

On Sunday afternoon, I was asked to partake of a discussion on another forum in which Richard Abanes was “discussing” things with its members. I asked a few questions of Mr. Abanes and received a few responses and that was about it. I had several email exchanges with a friend at that site, and still do. These email conversations deal a great deal with how ugly things are getting on the truth front everywhere and especially on the Internet. On Monday, another friend and I were talking about Richard Abanes post on his site in which he accused most of us at CRN of all sorts of things. Ken Silva also mentioned that I needed to go look at it. In this post Mr. Abanes basically accused all of us being unregenerate. My friend and I were discussing this later and I was still a bit angry, which is not a good thing when discussing these things. I told her in a rash of verbiage what I thought of him, and then forgot about it. In that rash statement I repeated to her things I thought of Mr. Abanes that were the very things he had stated about us in that article. While my flesh can justify such a thing, my conscience cannot.

Some accused me today of being liar and hypocrite because of that statement. I had to go back to that post where the comment was to find it. I decided to edit it out, but later I decided that that was dishonest so I put the statement back the way it was. No excuses. That was a mistake and a sin and I ask all involved to forgive me for doing that.

Now, back to what this whole discussion is about. Ken Silva told me today that some former friends had turned on him and were now accusing him of hypocrisy, et cetera. I looked at the posts and comments in question and then realized, as Ken did, that our enemy, Satan, is working very hard in all of this to divide those who stand for the truth. I could not believe how petty these conflicts are becoming. Ad Hominem attacks is now the order of the day. These are personal attacks and are not proper as a form of debate. In fact, I have a rule on my blog against such a thing. I will delete any comment that uses them as a form of argument against the “truths” being discussed.

As far as continuing to stand for God’s truth in this war, I will continue. I will not employ these personal attacks and I ask all reading this to commit to the same. We must reason from God’s Word alone. Any who attempt to take over the discussion forum on my blog by using these attacks will find their comments deleted. At the same time, I commit to being a great deal more careful about what I say during those times when dealing those who are bound and determined to derail our stand in this truth war. Things are getting very ugly, but we do not have to contribute to that. Yes, by God’s grace we will prayerfully continue to stand against false prophets and their teachings using God’s Word as our source of His truth. We will continue to teach what is true to God’s People while resisting that which is false.

Soli Deo Gloria!

29 thoughts on “The Internet Front of the Truth War is an Ugly Place

  1. Pingback: The Internet Front of the Truth War is an Ugly Place - Reformata

  2. Standing alongside you, brother in the Lord Jesus. We stand for the light who is Jesus Christ, Lord and Savior and The TRUTH of the Gospel in full!

    For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved. John 3:20

    You and Ken are in my prayers. These evil deeds will be exposed!

    Like

  3. Amen, Mike

    It is the Norm on C?RN.info and other places, but we have enough to battle on our own. We need to know the truth more deeply so we can deal with the lies.

    Like

  4. I know what you mean my brother. The odd thing was, I explained to them how it all could have been handled privately because SPM knows both of us personally.

    In fact that Phil, whose blog is where the discussion orginally took place, is a former contributor at SPM. That’s why it looks to me like it was intentional to fire on me publicly.

    Oh well, it’s over now as far as I’m concerned. Perhaps, even though they’re also an “ODM” like you and me, they agree with what Richard Abanes wrote today: http://apprising.org/2009/03/richard-abanes-all-or-most-online-discernment-ministries-in-serious-sinful-mindset/

    Like

  5. Thanks Ken, so let us determine here and now not to act like those “fellas” over at CRN.info or RA, et cetera who seem to be totally devoted to making their points via Ad Hominem, innuendo, or whatever they can come up with in order to create “outrage” over our stance that the only truth is God’s Truth and it is knowable and we must conform to it alone. We can do what God wants us to do without stooping to that nonsense.

    Like

  6. We are with you all the way Mike. And Ken 🙂 We still think its 11:59 and thats why all the attacks are very fierce.

    Like

  7. Brother Mike,

    Your title says it all…it’s a war. And some of the folks who don’t recognize what the battle is all about are the first to throw stones.

    If they didn’t throw stones, they otherwise would be forced to evaluate their complacency on the very issues that are tested by ” ODMs’ “. And for most, that is a threat to their comfort zones or dare I say, their comfortable religion.

    I know. I was there, too. Got the T-shirt.

    Like

  8. Praying for you and Ken, Mike. Thank you for your transparent humility. It’s hard to ignore the flesh in a battle such as this, but the Holy Spirit will give you and us what we need. I still don’t understand exactly what happened on Sunday and how or why RA showed up on the forum. Then he vanished! But my Lord knows. It is in Him that we place our trust to lead us in all Truth.

    Heather

    Like

  9. Heather, thank you very much my sister. If nothing else this whole blowup or whatever it is has opened my eyes to some things to which I was not paying much attention. Now, God has my attention. This is a serious thing. We are in a war, the Truth War, and there are so many professing Christians out there who see these “debates” as bad because the false peace has been broken. We are not called to be complacent in this war, but to stand for truth. We cannot seek “peace” for peace’s sake, but always pursue God’s pure truth.

    In Christ

    Mike Ratliff

    Like

  10. Dear Mike, I thank you and praise God for your honesty and humility. How rare that is, even among Christians these days. You are right that we must desire our motives to be for the Lord’s sake and glory and truth. Our motives should not be our own egos or wanting to be right just for the sake of right. May the Lord give us boldness to tell the truth. May we be committed to it in humility and for His sake and the good of others. Know this: truth glorifies the Lord whether others will acknowledge it as His truth or not. The prophets continued to bring the truth for God’s sake when men would no longer tolerate it. This is greatly used to build up the true body of Christ. My prayer is: Oh Lord, please do not let the anger and unbelief of others get to us. Help us to keep the truth in balance with love and primarily for Your Glory, not ours. Amen.

    Like

  11. Well, Mike, I was glad to know that you helped us. Maybe that was God’s way of showing you the extent to which some will go. The friends on that forum fought the good fight of faith. I happened to be out of town until Monday. When I logged on I couldn’t believe my eyes and had to talk to DG about it. She relayed the events to me. Anyway, I’m glad that you joined us. Gotta love the internet and the sisters and brothers in the Lord that have become my friends, even when we haven’t met in person. Together we can pursue righteousness and the Truth, the only Truth. I know that is what you are committed to!

    Like

  12. Heather, yes, I do feel as if I have been on a fact-finding mission. I have been praying for the last several days that God would show me what direction I need to go in this battle. I have been re-reading John Bunyan’s The Pilgrim’s Progress for the last couple of weeks. It is amazing how wise Bunyan was when it came to dealing with apostates and other enemies of the Church. How did he learn this wisdom? He was persecuted and was even sent to prison for 12 years because he refused to stop preaching and pastoring his church. The lengths some of these people will go to in their attempt to discourage those holding fast is truly amazing. However, we are not like those who are Christians according the flesh. We are new creations who have the Holy Spirit. God is holding us firmly in his hands and we will persevere to the end. My prayer is that God will use me for His glory and that I will faithfully obey Him to the very end.

    Like

  13. Mike, God will never let us down. I pray for each of us who have been called into this battle to be willing to be, as Oswald Chambers calls it, “poured out wine.” There isn’t anything worth more than standing for the Word of Truth. I have witnessed God using you. And I will continue to pray for you in this battle for the Truth. You know where you can find us…

    Like

  14. Thank you Heather. I am deeply humbled by what you wrote here. Thank you for your prayers. Oswald Chamber’s teaching to us on this that we become broken bread and poured out wine. That tells me that I must die to self while taking on whatever duty or role that my Lord gives me to do and be. Yes, Lord Jesus!

    Like

  15. All part of our refining, brother.
    When we engaged in polemics we knew the calling was to periods of contraversy and trials. How hot they get is well within God’s gracious control, as He conforms us to the image of His Son. His promise not to tempt us beyond what we are able must extend to cyberspace as well.
    Do press on as God leads, upholding the truth of His sovereign grace.
    Darrin

    Like

Comments are closed.