Is Unity for Unity’s Sake Right or Wrong?


My last three posts have been about shining the light of truth into the darkness of the Word-Faith movement. When I began the research for that, I was convinced that I would receive multitudes of attacks from the WoF folks, but to my surprise, I heard absolutely nothing from them. Perhaps they don’t read anything posted here…

However, I did receive a few comments here and there from well meaning folks questioning the outcome of what I was I doing. Their point was that we should not shun those in error, but remain in unity with all professing Christians. That would be unity for unity’s sake, not obedience to any command from the Bible that I am aware of. All calls for unity we find in the Bible are not to cross the boundaries of error, apostasy or heresy. Instead, we are to be separate from those people mired in those errors, but always with the hope of restoration as we pray for God to bring them back into the light. Continue reading