Total Inability


by Mike Ratliff

As many of you know, I was in Washington, DC from Thursday last week through Sunday. My wife and I were there specifically to visit our son who is a first year Resident at GWU Hospital in their Emergency Medicine program. We flew home on Monday. We didn’t go to visit the monuments. However, we did spend a lot of time walking through the Columbia Heights, Dupont Circle, Foggy Bottom, and Georgetown areas of our nation’s Capital. I wrote my first impressions of this on Friday in my post Reflections from Washington, DC. After some further reflection on what God was revealing to me through this, I have come to the conclusion that I must post a series on the Doctrines of Grace.

Those of us who dearly love these doctrines often use the acronym “T.U.L.I.P.” to represent the five points. One of my favorite books about this is The Doctrines of Grace by James Montgomery Boice and Philip Graham Ryken. I will use this book extensively in this series along with others by R.C. Sproul, John Owen, and Martin Luther. However, my primary source will be The Bible.

Continue reading