The Article on Which the Church Stands or Falls

As we have stood firm against those who are demanding that we compromise and say nothing about the History Channel’s Mishandling of the Bible in it’s miniseries, I have been somewhat surprised about one thing, but not about another. The volume of the outcry against this stance surprised me, but the incredible theological shallowness of those doing the attacking against our stance did not. It was very similar to the volume and type of attack that I went through when I reblogged a post from a friend about some false teaching being promoted by Beth Moore a few years ago. The outcry was intense and large, but the depth of theological knowledge and reason within those doing the attacking was sparse indeed. It was all based within fleshly outrage that is evident within those whose idol has been toppled over. Now, with that in in focus I had intended to repost my study Judge Not!, which I wrote about 7 years ago. However, that is a 16 part Bible study which I had intended to publish back in the day, but a friend in the Christian marketing/publishing industry suggested that I simply post it and let as many people read it as possible. He posted it on his web site and several others have as well. I wanted so much to suggest to those accusing of us of judging falsely to go read that post, but I doubt if they were really listening.

Instead of focusing on that study I would like to continue with pursuing what is theologically correct and what we must hold fast to and never compromise even unto death. As I contemplated this today I received an email from Ligonier Ministries about their current No Compromise: 2013 National Conference. The message below is from R.C. Sproul. 

Was the Reformation debate over justification by faith alone a tempest in a teapot? There are many today who think so, many who argue that the Reformation is over. In the following message from the No Compromise: 2013 National Conference, Dr. R.C. Sproul will explain why the Reformers spoke of justification by faith alone as the article on which the church stands or falls, and why we are never to compromise on this essential truth of the Christian faith.

The Article On Which The Church Stands Or Falls

12 thoughts on “The Article on Which the Church Stands or Falls

  1. Justification is indeed the essential truth of the Christian faith, and it rests on and depends on sound biblical comprehension. Hence, Sola Scriptura is the bedrock of even this most important Christian doctrine of justification. Rome gets it so wrong because they rely on the wisdom of man, their understanding being blinded. Many are led astray by taking the Word of God lightly. May we truly be people of the Book.

    Like

  2. RC Sproul said “the formal cause of the reformation in the 16th century was the dispute over the seat of final authority that binds the Christian conscience which would be under Sola Scriptura. The CORE material cause or issue was the doctrine of justification -Sola Fide-(alone). At the heart of this discussion was not a tangential debate over how many angels can dance on the head of a pin or a needless controversy over pedantic points of theology and of doctrine that professors disagreed about. But this issue touched the very heart of the Christian faith because the question of justification is designed to answer the deeper question,, how can an unjust person possibly survive the judgment of a just and holy GOD?

    The heart of the Gospel is the same with the 5 Solas as it has always been. The mini-series guts the essential truths from God’s word as final Authority-Scripture ALONE, Christ ALONE, faith ALONE, Grace ALONE and to God ALONE be all the glory and places it on supposed “theologians” and their Catholic views. People don’t want to read God’s word-they are lazy and are being lulled to sleep with feel good fuzzy titillating entertainment to the senses. They would rather believe false teachers who if they took the time would know that these so called teachers are not theologians but false teachers who have contorted God’s word. People are so complacent.

    “When calamity comes, the wicked are brought down, but even in death the righteous have a refuge.”-Pr. 14:32

    Like

  3. I was reading an article and this just stood out–“Scripture is exclusively verbal and propositional; it is not sensory or pictorial. Divine revelation consists of words, not images; it is addressed to the intellect, not to the senses;”

    Like

  4. “the incredible theological shallowness.” Mike this a surprise to me also when I attend a Bible study. Just went to a study with older men I knew from 25 years ago and their theology is the same it was back then. It would take 2 pages to try to relate but you truly have a handle on the problem. What has or is happening? Keep up your good work – God Bless.

    Like

  5. Hey Mike, Good job on both articles as usual. If you got flack for writing your brief review of “The Bible”, can you imagine the flack that Chris Rosebrough over at “Fighting for the Faith” is getting. He’s doing an episode by episode critique. In Christ, Tony Z.

    Like

  6. Thanks Larry, I am convinced that the theological shallowness we are seeing is a symptom primarily of the secularization of the visible church and that includes it’s taking on the value system of the world and those people have become lazy in their study of the Word and quite hostile to anyone who tries to move them away from their complacency. Another symptom I see in this is the hostility toward anyone standing firm against comrpomise and doing what we are told in scripture to do, which is rebuke and correct those in error. I am have to endure the wrath of many all around me who view that as “just being mean.”

    Like

  7. I am sure that is true Tony. I haven’t watched any of it. However, last night I did watch a special on the Korean War and afterwards I was going back through the channels before I turned it off before I went to bed. I went through the History Channel and for once a commercial wasn’t playing and I decided to see if I could recognize what “story” they were attempting to portray. I watched about three minutes of it and gave up. I never did figure out what it was about. Is that how we are supposed to teach from God’s Word?

    Like

  8. Hi Mean Mike, (joking)
    Thank you for the link to this conference. As one who was raised in the Roman Catholic “church” I really appreciated what R C Sproul had to say. I have family who haven’t been to “church” in a long time but are still tenaciously Catholic. I remember their teaching that said you had to have faith in Jesus Christ… and then they add to it… all the hooks. I enjoyed the question and answer period also.
    By the way, did anyone notice their attire? No seeker sensitive “uniforms” here.

    Like

Comments are closed.