Precious and Magnificent Promises

by Mike Ratliff

1 Simeon Peter, a slave and apostle of Jesus Christ,
To those who have received the same kind of faith as ours, by the righteousness of our God and Savior, Jesus Christ: 2 Grace and peace be multiplied to you in the full knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord; 3 seeing that His divine power has granted to us everything pertaining to life and godliness, through the full knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and excellence. 4 For by these He has granted to us His precious and magnificent promises, so that by them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world by lust. 2 Peter 1:1-4 (LSB)

When I was relatively young in my faith I discovered 2 Peter Chapter 1. I was going through a period learning about what it meant to be a disciple of my Lord Jesus Christ. I desperately wanted to avoid being simply a religious Christian. When I studied this passage It looked like some very great promises to believers if they would apply what Peter was talking about. I went to one of our Pastors with my Bible open to this passage and asked him to explain it. His answer was not very helpful. He told me that as I matured in my faith that the Lord would see to it that I would be able to do these things. In a sense, I believe he was right, but back then, being a computer geek and software developer and network engineer, I wanted a more direct nuts and bolts answer. Of course, several years later I did indeed find the right path to this, which required me to become immersed in prayer and Bible study that resulted in  a great deal of confession and repentance on my part that enabled me to see what it meant to abide in Christ (John 15) and to become a living sacrifice (Romans 12:1) who was being transformed through the renewal of my mind on a daily basis (Romans 12:2). It was from that personal revival that I began writing and commenting on websites and blogs such as Slice of Laodiicia. From that I began my own blogging, which led to being invited to join the discernment team at Christian Research Network. Now, with that up front, let’s look at 2 Peter 1:1-17.

Carefully read 2 Peter 1:1-4 which I placed at the top of this post. All in Christ are so by what? They have received faith by the righteousness of our God and Savior, Jesus Christ. There are no exceptions. All in Christ are so by grace through faith not works.

8 For by grace you have been saved through faith, and this not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; 9 not of works, so that no one may boast. 10 For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them. Ephesians 2:8-10 (LSB)

Ok, so we must never forget this. Our works reveal who we are in Christ, but we are saved by grace through faith not by our works. Okay, so now go back and read 2 Peter 1:1-4. So with BOTH of these passages in the front of your mind read 2 Peter 1:5-11 below.

5 Now for this very reason also, applying all diligence, in your faith supply moral excellence, and in your moral excellence, knowledge, 6 and in your knowledge, self-control, and in your self-control, perseverance, and in your perseverance, godliness, 7 and in your godliness, brotherly kindness, and in your brotherly kindness, love. 8 For if these things are yours and are increasing, they render you neither useless nor unfruitful in the full knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9 For in whom these things are not present, that one is blind, being nearsighted, having forgotten the purification from his former sins. 10 Therefore, brothers, be all the more diligent to make your calling and choosing sure; for in doing these things, you will never stumble; 11 for in this way the entrance into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ will be abundantly supplied to you. 2 Peter 1:5-11 (LSB)

Ok, now my brethren, how do we supply or add moral excellence  to our faith and then supply to that knowledge, and to that self-control and to that perseverance and to that godliness and to that brotherly kindness and to that love? Is this works? Do we just try harder? Or is this part of Romans 12:2 and John 15? I contend that any spiritual growth we do is completely in control of the Holy Spirit. What is our part? A careful reading of Romans 12:1-2 might help.

1 Therefore I exhort you, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a sacrifice—living, holy, and pleasing to God, which is your spiritual service of worship. 2 And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may approve what the will of God is, that which is good and pleasing and perfect. Romans 12:1-2 (LSB)

When I enrolled in Evangelism Explosion at our Church several years ago, part of our curriculum was to memorize several passages from Scripture. This is one of them. I still know it by heart. How do we present our bodies as a living and holy sacrifice to God? It is by the mercies of God, or by His grace. We can try to do this ourselves, but if we do then is just works righteousness. No, it must be by His grace. I have a prayer and Bible study time every morning before I get into my day. That is how I submit myself to God and how I pray that by His grace I become that living sacrifice that day. I pray for healing for those in our church that need it. I pray for salvation of several people. I pray for God to develop in me the Christian character that He wants me to have. I pray for wisdom, discernment, personal holiness and Chirstlikness. If you compare that list with 2 Peter 1:6 you will see how I am asking God to develop in me those things, maybe perhaps with different words, but the same things. I confess to Him that I cannot do this myself, I need His grace to be the Christian He wants me to be. I ask for direction, and I end my prayer that no matter what I want my life to bring Him glory. Oh, and I also ask God to direct my path and show me what He wants me to do. I have learned over the years to listen and pay attention after I ask for that because God does indeed direct our paths. Our part is to listen and obey.

Now look at v11. That is my goal. How about you?

Soli Deo Gloria!

6 thoughts on “Precious and Magnificent Promises

  1. I have always liked 2nd Peter for its declaring Gods work in us for sanctification and also the doctrine of assurance.that is a truly fine exposition of these versus you put there. I also like 2nd Peter 3 for I believe it is telling everyone that Paul wrote Hebrews for he quotes from Hebrews 6,and credits those scriptures to Paul.At least that is what I see there.

    Like

  2. Amen… by His grace. If the oil of gladness represents the Holy Spirit… this is what worked for Christ. That we do not grieve the Holy Spirit, but rather, be filled with Him.
    Hebrews 1You have loved righteousness and hated iniquity; therefore God, your God, has anointed you with the oil of gladness above your fellows.”Psalm 45:6-7

    Like

Comments are closed.